Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Omni

A guide to Omni, an academic search tool that gives you access to information resources from McMaster and other participating Ontario university libraries.

Omni Academic Search Tool logoOmni is a multi-disciplinary academic search tool that offers enhanced discovery and delivery of information resources at McMaster, our Omni partner institutions, and beyond.

Omni replaces McMaster's former search tools Discovery, Catalogue and Classic Catalogue powered by EBSCOhost and Innovative Interfaces. Although these tools are still accessible, they are no longer current and will become unavailable by the end of this year. Any lists, preferred searches or reading history generated in these discontinued tools can be saved up until December 31, 2022, at which point, this information will be irretrievably lost.

Omni can search for articles, books, journals, videos and other resources in a variety of formats at McMaster and 17 other Ontario university libraries at these Omni partner institutions:

1. Algoma 4. Guelph 7. McMaster 10. Ontario Tech 13. Trent 16. Wilfrid Laurier
2. Brock 5. Lakehead 8. Nipissing 11. Ottawa 14. Waterloo 17. Windsor
3. Carleton 6. Laurentian 9. OCAD 12. Queen's 15. Western 18. York

 

Omni is also home to your Library Account.

Sign-in with your McMaster credentials to ...
Omni Sign in

Search scopes in OmniBy default, Omni searches the collections of McMaster and all Omni partner libraries.

To change the scope you'd like to search, use the drop-down menu located beside the Simple Search box (as shown on the right) or use the radio buttons on the Advanced Search screen. The options are listed from broadest to narrowest search scope.

The different search scope options are described in the table below.

Search Scope What's the Difference? Keep in Mind ...

1. McMaster + Other Omni Libraries [default]

Searches physical & online resources at all McMaster Libraries (Catalogue & Articles+) plus physical resources at 17 other Omni partner libraries.

This search scope is a useful starting point for research, especially if the topic is multi-disciplinary and you want to survey the extent of information from a variety of resource types.

Online resources at Other Omni Libraries are not included due to licensing restrictions.

You can discover items that are not available at McMaster, but you can freely request these items either within Omni directly from the search results or through the interlibrary loan system called RACER.

2. McMaster Libraries (Catalogue & Articles+) Searches physical & online resources at all McMaster Libraries.

This search scope includes everything in the default search scope, except physical resources at Other Omni Libraries. Focus is on local holdings.

Although fairly comprehensive, this search scope does not include everything available through McMaster libraries. For more complete results, also consider searching databases and consulting research guides relevant to your subject area.

3. McMaster Libraries (Catalogue only) Searches physical & online resources at all McMaster Libraries, but EXCLUDES Articles+ (i.e., individual articles, book chapters, reports, and other content contained in subscription and open access databases). This search scope is useful when you want to find a specific or known item (book, journal, movie, etc.) included in the collections at McMaster libraries.

If additional searching options are required for Catalogue content (such as browsing by author, title or subject headings), select Browse in the Omni banner.
4. Archives & Research Collections Searches physical resources at The William Ready Division of Archives & Research Collections in Mills Library (Lower Level) and the Bertrand Russell Archives in the Bertrand Russell Centre (88 Forsythe Avenue) at McMaster University.

For online archival material, visit the Digital Archive provided by McMaster University Library.

For Health Sciences Archives (FHS, HHS & Affiliates) consult this guide and visit the C. Barber Mueller History of Health and Medicine Room in the Health Sciences Library (Lower Level) in the McMaster University Medical Centre (MUMC).

5. Course Reserves Searches physical resources such as print textbooks and DVDs on course reserve (short-term loan) at Mills,Thode or Health Sciences libraries at McMaster University. For online resources or eReserves, check your course in Avenue to Learn.
NOTE: Physical resources can include print materials (books, journals, government publications, etc.), DVDs, CDs, vinyl records, microfilm, microfiche and other items that cannot be directly accessed online via a web browser. Online resources typically include online materials (e-books, e-journals, databases, streaming videos, etc.) that can be directly accessed via a web browser.
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email