Skip to main content

How Do I Find News?

A guide to news sources.

Below is a listing of publicly available websites that point to a variety of news sources worldwide. If an article at one of these websites is not available in full-text, try searching for the title of the news source (not the article title) in the databases noted under Finding a Specific News Source.

News Websites

Title Content Date Coverage
Abolitionist Newspapers of the 1850s Provides full-text searching and browsing of three publications: The Voice of the Fugitive, The Provincial Freeman and The True Royalist and Weekly Intelligencer. Ontario newspapers. Historical
1850s; varies by title
ABYZ News Links Provides links to international newspapers, news media and news sources. Current
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Current & Historical
 
Fagan Finder Includes links to news search engines and sources, most of which are open access.  Current
Google News Provides worldwide news coverage from approximately 4,500 sources. Current
Google News Archives Browse and click through to a specific newspaper and scroll through the available issues or type in a topic in the search box and use the Search Tools to filter the results.  Historical
ICON (International Coalition on Newspapers) Finding aid for newspapers published outside the United States. Bibliographic descriptions of titles, holdings information, and links to earlier and later titles (if relevant) are typically noted. Current & Historical
ipl2: Newspapers Listing of online newspapers from around the world. Current
News Media Canada Contains links to Canadian daily and community newspapers online. Find papers by name, geography, publication type or owner.  Current
Newseum: Today's Front Pages View today’s newspaper front pages from around the world. Select papers from the gallery, list or map. Current with some Historical
NewspaperARCHIVE.com Search (for a fee) historical newspapers from around the world. Browse (for free) U.S. Papers, by Date, All Papers, Other Countries. Current & Historical
1607 to current; varies by title
Newspapers.com Lists over 7,500+ newspapers across the United States, Canada, Australia, Panama, Ireland and the United Kingdom.  Current & Historical
‚Äč1700s-2000s
NYS Historic Newspapers A digital archive of over 9,595,706 searchable page images from newspapers in the state of New York. Historical with some Current
1725 to 2016; varies by title
Paperboy Directory for over 11,000 online newspapers worldwide. Current
Papers Past - Newspapers  Archive of digitized New Zealand and Pacific newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Historical
1839-1949; varies by title
Wikipedia: List of Online Newspaper Archives A list of worldwide newspapers online, including both free and fee based sites. Organized by country. Current & Historical 
World-Newspapers.com Directory of world newspapers, magazines and news sites in English. Current