How Do I Find News?

In this guide, news primarily refers to newspapers in all its formats (print, online or microform), but it can also include other types of news sources such as newsletters, newswires, news blogs, radio and television news or transcripts, press releases and more.

Looking for news on a topic?

• Try searching for keyword(s) that describe your topic in Omni's Newspapers search or in specific news databases and news websites.

Looking for a specific news story?

• Try searching for the title of the article (or headline) in Omni's Newspapers search
  • e.g., Amid cheers, some scholars see an airbrushed Hamilton
     
• If the story is not included in Omni, try searching for the title of the news source or newspaper (e.g., The New York Times) in the databases listed under Finding a Specific News Source.

Looking for a specific news source?

Search for the title of the news source or newspaper (e.g., The Globe and Mail) in one or more of the databases below. NOTE: Some news sources change names frequently, so look for alternate titles e.g.The Hamilton Spectator, The Spectator

• Journal Search in Omni [includes print, online and microform formats]
  • search by the publication name/title of news source or by ISSN (International Standard Serial Number)
  • click the title to view holdings, format and location details
  • if the title is not found in Journal Search, try looking for the title in the Simple or Advanced search in Omni
     
• Factiva [includes online (plain-text) formats]
  • click Source below the Search box
  • in the Search Source Name/Alias Only box, type the name of the news source and click the arrow button
  • click the title to add it to your search, then search for keywords describing your topic
  • see Finding a Source in Factiva for additional guidance on locating specific news titles
     
• Nexis Uni [includes online (plain-text) formats]
  • select All Sources from the Menu drop-down list (top left)
  • search for a title in the Search Within Sources box; browse for a title by alphabet; or Narrow By: Category, Jurisdiction, Practice Areas & Topics or Publisher
  • in the results list, click on the desired title and select "Get documents" to retrieve full-text or select "Add source as a search filter" and enter keyword(s) in the search box (top of page) - if desired,  add more titles to the search filter 
     
• 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers [includes online, page image (PDF) formats]
  • select Browse to find specific publications by title, date range and more.
     
• 17th & 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection [includes online, page image (PDF) formats]
  • select Browse to find specific publications by title, date range and more.
     
• 19th Century British Library Newspapers [includes online, page image (PDF) formats]
  • select Browse to find specific publications by title, date range and more.
     
• 19th Century U.S. Newspapers [includes online, page image (PDF) formats]
  • select Browse to find specific publications by title, date range and more.
     
• Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 [includes online,page image (PDF) formats]
  • select Browse Publications to find specific publications by title, location, date range or language.
     
• CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly) [includes online (plain-text) formats]
  • select Go to Publication Search to find specific publications by title, date range, language and more.
  • most newspapers are local or regional news titles in Canada published by Torstar
     
• Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals  [includes online, page image (PDF) formats]
  • select Publications to find a specific publication by title, date range, or place of publication,
  • includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages