Skip to Main Content

How Do I Find News?

A guide to news sources such as newspapers, newsletters, newswires, news blogs, radio and television news or transcripts, press releases and more

 U.S. Newspapers Online

  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 1800-1899 (varies by title)
    • Search and read full page and article images (PDF) from nearly 400 nineteenth century American newspapers
    • Select Newspaper search to find publications by title, state or city.
       
  • Chicago Defender 1909-1975
    • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Chicago Defender/Daily Defender, an influential black newspaper.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1789-1963 (varies by title)
    • Search and read newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present
       
  • Factiva, 1980s-present (varies by title)
    • Search and read plain-text articles from hundreds of national and state newspapers in the United States.
    • Find specific newspapers by using the Source section on the Free-Text Search screen. Try the By Region and/or By Title A-Z option from the Select Source Category drop-down menu.
       
  • Gale Primary Sources, 1600s-2000s (varies by title)
    • Search 19th Century U.S. Newspapers along with several historical British newspaper databases. 
       
  • NYS Historic Newspapers, 1725-present (varies by title)
    • A digital archive of over 11,701,381 searchable page images from a variety of New York State newspapers.
       
  • The New York Times, September 18, 1851 to 1 month ago
    • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the New York Times.
       
  • The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune, April 10, 1841 to December 31, 1962
    • ​Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the New York Tribune / Herald Tribune.
       
  • Nexis Uni, 1980s-present (varies by title)
    • Search and read plain-text articles from hundreds of national and state newspapers in the United States.
    • Find specific newspapers by selecting All Sources from the drop-down Menu list (top of screen) or go to the Guided Search task pods on the Nexis Uni home page > choose A Publication in the What are you interested in? box. > type a newspaper title in the Find Publication box and choose a title from the wordwheel selections displayed > click Search. 
       
  • The Wall Street Journal, July 8, 1889 to a few days ago
    • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
       
  • The Washington Post, December 12,1877 to a few days ago
    • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Washington Post.

Below is a listing of 19th to 21st Century U.S. newspapers available on microfilm and/or online through McMaster University Library. If you don't see a specific newspaper on this page, search for the title in Omni

U.S. Newspapers on Microfilm
Title Holdings Indexing Location: MILLS
Call Number
American Mercury
(Danielson, Connecticut)		 July 12 (1784) - Dec. 26 (1820) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5H42 A
American Patriot
(Concord, New Hampshire)		 v. 1 (1808/09) . Research Collections
AN .U5C66 A
Balloon Post
(Boston, Massachusetts)		 April 11 - 17 (1871) . Research Collections
AN .U5B6 B
California Chronik
(San Francisco, California)		 April - Nov. (1866) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5S3 C
Carson Valley News
(Genoa, Nevada)		 Feb. 20 (1875) - July 16 (1880) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5 G46C
Daily Inland Empire
(Hamilton, Nevada)		 Mar. 27 (1869) - v. 3, no. 13 (1870) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5H38 I
Daily Safeguard
(Virginia City, Nevada)		 Oct. 5 (1868) - Feb. 1 (1869) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5V5 D
Daily State Register
(Carson City, Nevada)		 v. 1, no. 1-3, 47-48, 50-69, 71-85, 87-156, Dec. 29-31 (1870); Feb. 21, 22, 24 - Mar. 18, Mar. 21 - Apr. 6; Apr. 8 - v. 2, no. 2 (1871) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5C26 D
Domobrana
(Whiting, Indiana)		 March (1965) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5W45 D
Enquirer
(Richmond, Virginia)		 May 9 (1804) - Sept. 16 (1815) . Research Collections
AN .U5R53 E
Esmeralda Herald
(Aurora, Nevada)		 (1877/78) - (1882) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5 A8E
Mechanics' Free Press
(Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)		 v. 1, no. 14 (1828) - v. 4, no. 172 (1831) . Research Collections
AN .U5P45 M
Morning Star, and Temperance Advocate
(Boston, Massachusetts)		 v. 1, no. 11-33 (1871) . Research Collections
AN .U5B6 M
Nevada Tribune
(Carson City, Nevada)		 Sept. 17 (1873) - July 27 (1875) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5C26 N
New-Hampshire Patriot
(Concord, New Hampshire)		 Apr. 18 (1809) - Jan. 26 (1819) . Research Collections
AN .U5C66 A
New-Hampshire Patriot & State Gazette
(Concord, New Hampshire)		 Feb. 2 (1819) - n.s. v. 2 (1820) . Research Collections
AN .U5C66 A
New York Daily Times
(New York City, New York)		 Sept. 18 (1851) - Sept. 12 (1857) New York Times Index, (1851) - (1857) 3rd floor microfilm cabinets
New York Times
(New York City, New York)		 Sept. 14 (1857) to the present New York Times Index, (1851) - (2009). 3rd floor microfilm cabinets
Richmond Enquirer
(Richmond, Virginia)		 Sept. 20 (1815) - Dec. 30 (1820) . Research Collections
AN .U5R53 E
Silver Bend Reporter
(Belmont, Nevada)		 v.1, no. 1-5, 8-12, 14-15, 38, 40-41 (1867); v.1, no. 42, 44 (1868); v.2, no. 4-26 (1868) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5B4 S
True Fissure
(Candelaria, Nevada)		 v.1, no.2 (1880) - v.1, no. 35 (1881); v.1, no. 39 - v.2, no. 2 (1881); v.2, no. 4-9 (1881); v.2, no. 12 (1881) - v.3, no. 9 (1882); v.3, no.37 (1883) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5C2 T
Tybo Sun
(Tybo, Nevada)		 v. 1, no. 18 - Nov. 24 (1877) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5T9 T
Tybo Weekly Sun
(Tybo, Nevada)		 Dec. 1 (1877) - v.3, no. 16 (1879) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5T9 T
Voce del Popolo
(San Francisco, California)		 Jan. 4-9, July 3 - Aug. 27, Sept. 1 - Oct. 20, Oct. 24 - Dec. 1, 5, 10-31 (1868); Jan.5, 12, 29 - Mar. 5 (1869); May 20 (1870); Oct. 1-30 (1890); Mar.6, 8 (1895); Feb. 28 (1899); June 14, July 22 (1904); Mar. 4-8 (1905) . 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5S3 V
Wall Street Journal
(New York/Chicago, Illinois)		 Jan. 4 (1960) to the present Wall Street Journal Index, (1965), (1970) to the present 3rd floor microfilm cabinets
AN .U5 N7W
Washington Post
(Washington, D.C.)		 (1974) to the present

Washington Post Newspaper Index, 1974 to the present

 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5W38 W
Washington Post, Times Herald
(Washington, D.C.)		 (1969) - (1973) Washington Post Newspaper Index, 1972 to the present 3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5W38 W
White Pine News
(Treasure City, Nevada)		 Dec. 26 (1868) - Aug. 7 (1870)   3rd floor compact shelving
AN .U5E5 W
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email