Skip to main content

How Do I Find News?

A guide to news sources.

Below is a listing of news databases available to current McMaster students, faculty and staff with a MacID.  If you don't see a specific database or news source on this page, search for the title in McMaster's library catalogue.

News Databases at McMaster

Title Content Date Coverage
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Search and read full page and article images (PDF) of 17th and 18th century English news media (i.e., pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks & newspapers). Historical
1604-1804; varies by title
17th & 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection Search and read full page and article images (PDF) of 17th and 18th century newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets.  Historical
1672-1737; varies by title
19th Century British Library Newspapers (Parts I to V) Search and read full page and article images (PDF) of selected newspapers originally published in England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales between 1800 and 1900. Historical
1800-1950; varies by title
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Search and read full page and article images (PDF) from nearly 400 nineteenth century U.S. newspapers. Historical
1800-1899; varies by title
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Provides indexing for 8 Canadian newspapers and other news sources. Current
1980s-2001; varies by title
Chicago Defender  Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Chicago Defender. U.S. newspaper. Historical
1910-1975
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly)  Provides indexing and selected full-text for approximately 200 Canadian newspapers, most of which are local or regional news titles published by Torstar. Current
1980s-present; varies by title
Factiva Provides indexing and selected full-text for approximately 2,500 news sources worldwide. Current
1970s-present; varies by title
Gale Primary Sources Cross-search several British and U.S. historical news databases that appear on this list.  Historical
1600s-2000s
The Globe and Mail Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of Globe and Mail. Canadian newspaper. Current & Historical
May 8, 1844 to 4 years ago
The Guardian Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of The Guardian. British newspaper.

Historical
1821-2003

The New York Times Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the New York Times. U.S. newspaper. Current & Historical
September 18, 1851 to 3 months ago
The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the New York Tribune / Herald Tribune. U.S. newspaper. Historical
1841-1962
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) Provides indexing and selected full-text for thousands of news sources worldwide. Current
1970s-present; varies by title
The Observer Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of The Observer. British newspaper. Historical
1791-2003
ProQuest News & Newspapers Search the full-text of 8 North American newspapers. Globe & Mail, Montreal Gazette, National Post, New York Times, Toronto Star, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and Vancouver Sun. Provides full page and article images (PDF). Current & Historical
1840s-2010s; varies by title; usually a 3 month lag for most recent issues
Regional Business News Provides indexing and selected full text for 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Current
1960s-present; varies by title
The Sunday Times Digital Archive Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Sunday Times. British newspaper. Historical
1822-2006
The Times Digital Archive Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Times of LondonBritish newspaper. Historical
1785-2012
The Times Literary Supplement Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS)British publication. Historical
1902-2013
Toronto Star Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Toronto StarCanadian publication. Current & Historical
January 2, 1894 to 3 months ago
The Wall Street Journal Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Wall Street Journal. U.S. newspaper. Current & Historical
July 8, 1889 to 3 months ago
The Washington Post Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Washington Post. U.S. newspaper. Current & Historical
December 6,1877 to 3 months ago
World Newspaper Archive Provides full page article images to historical 19th and early 20th century newspapers from Latin America, Africa and South Asia Historical
1800-1922, varies by title