Rankings

Best Brands (Interbrand Surveys & Research)
Identifies top global brands along with top brands in other regions/countries.
Bouncy Maps (Mapping Worlds)
Includes cartogram feature that transforms the size of countries (or any other area) to show proportions and evolution over time of various data.
Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) (Transparency International), 1995 to the present, some CPI reports also available for download
Scores 180 countries and territories by their perceived levels of public sector corruption, according to experts and business people.
Democracy Index (Economist Intelligence Unit), 2017 to the present
Ranks countries according to a state of democracy measurement. NOTE: Press the search button (magnifying glass) to generate a results list which include Democracy Index reports for various years. Register for a free download of the report.
Doing Business reports (World Bank), 2004-2020 (discontinued). Business Ready (B-READY) (forthcoming)
Countries are ranked on their ease of doing business, with first place being the best. A high ranking means the regulatory environment is conducive to the operation of business. This index averages the country's percentile rankings on 10 topics, made up of a variety of indicators, giving equal weight to each topic.
Foreign Direct Investment Confidence Index (FDI) (A.T. Kearney)
Ranks countries based on how changes in their political, economic, and regulatory systems are likely to affect foreign direct investment inflows in the coming years.
Fortune 500 Companies (Fortune Media), 1996 to present
Fortune 500 Companies (CNN Money), 1955 to 2005
A list of the largest corporations in the United States. Select relevant year(s) from drop-down menu.
Fortune Global 500 (Fortune Media), 1995 to present
A list of the largest corporations worldwide.
Fragile States Index (The Fund for Peace), 2005 to present
Ranks over 170 countries by twelve social, economic and political/military criteria that affect peace and security.
Global Cities Index and Outlook, (A.T. Kearney)
Ranks the world’s top-performing cities and those with the most potential.
globalEDGE: Global Insights by Country (Michigan State University)
Includes country rankings on a variety of statistics for almost every country in the world.
Global Happiness : A Guide to the Most Contented (and Discontented) Places Around the Globe, 2016
This e-book assesses what places (countries and cities) offer the happiest living experiences by considering quality of life, prospects for the future, social relations, confidence in good government, and several other factors.
Global Services Location Index (GSLI) (A.T. Kearney)
Analyzes and ranks the top 50 countries worldwide as the best destinations for providing outsourcing activities, including IT services and support, contact centers and back-office support.
Global Slavery Index (Walk Free Foundation)
Ranks countries according to the number of people living as slaves. Includes anyone who is forced into unpaid labour or debt bondage, is trafficked for sex purposes, or is born into servitude
Happy Planet Index (New Economics Foundation)
Measures the "efficiency with which countries convert the earth's finite resources into well-being experienced by their citizens." Based on calculations of life satisfaction and life expectancy in terms of ecological footprint.
Human Development Reports (United Nations Development Programme), 1990 to the present
Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 DE-H72 [1990-2014] (Subscription Cancelled).
IMD World Competitiveness Rankings (World Competitiveness Center)
Provides competitiveness rankings (competitiveness, digital Competitiveness and talent) for selected countries around the world.
Index of Economic Freedom (Heritage Foundation)
Measures level of economic freedom and government intervention in countries worldwide.
Marketing Charts
Contains statistics, charts and articles on the top players within a specific category such as automotive, retail, entertainment, advertising and more.
NationMaster
Centralizes country data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD. Allows you to compare and rank countries on a variety of variables, including education, labour, economy and more. Statistical maps and charts can also be generated.
OECD Better Life Index (OECD)
Website presents data and ratings on indicators related to "material living conditions and quality of life" for OECD's 34 member countries, along with Brazil and Russia. Rankings for housing, income, jobs, health, community, education, environment, civic engagement, life satisfaction, safety, and work-life balance are included.
The Web Index (World Wide Web Foundation)
Provides a "multi-dimensional measure of the Web’s growth, utility and impact on people and nations. It covers 61 developed and developing countries, incorporating indicators that assess the political, economic and social impact of the Web, as well as indicators of Web connectivity and infrastructure".
World Database of Happiness (Erasmus Happiness Economics Research Organization)
Site contains a bibliography of more than 7,000 publications, approx. 760 measures of happiness in more than 1,500 studies, and data covering 165 countries. Search for keywords or browse links in left navigation menu.
World Economic Forum Reports (World Economic Forum)
Includes full-text access to a number of annual international competitiveness reports that rank countries by a variety of criteria. Site includes Global Competitiveness Report, Global Gender Gap Report, Global Risks Report, Top 10 Emerging Technologies, Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report and many more publications.
World's Most Ethical Companies Rankings (Ethisphere Institute)
Ranks companies based on corporate citizenship and responsibility, corporate governance, innovation that contributes to public well being, industry leadership, executive leadership & tone from the top, legal, regulatory & reputation track record and internal systems and ethics/compliance program.