Company & Industry

Business Source Premier
Contains company profiles (some with a SWOT analysis), industry profiles (overview, market value) and market research reports for countries around the world.

CorporateInformation (Wright Investors' Service)
Provides information on 30 industries and 60 countries. Get a list of companies covered in a particular industry and a list of relevant links and a brief synopsis of the industry.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Profiles over 100 business sectors of global significance. Entries typically include sections on organization and structure, background and development, current conditions, research and technology, industry leaders and further reading. Organized alphabetically by industry (NAICS code).
Location: STORAGE HD 2324.E53 2003 & 2007
Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008) via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Contains information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product - the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Covers manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, appliances, home furnishing and sporting goods. U.S. emphasis.
EuroPages: The European B2B Search Engine
A multilingual business directory containing millions of companies from 35 countries in Europe & links to international yellow pages. Search by product or service, by company name, or by activity or sector.
Factiva
Contains full-text newspapers from around the world and reports on companies and industries (select the Companies/Markets link in toolbar)
Fitch Solutions / BMI (Business Monitor International) Reports
Macroeconomic, financial, and company analysis on emerging and key global markets. Industries covered include: agribusiness, automotives, food & drink, infrastructure, mining, pharma & healthcare, power & renewables, telecommunications.
GEM: Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
Includes data sets and annual global and country specific reports related to entrepreneurship.
Global B2B Online Directory - some content is fee-based (Kompass)
Search across 30 million companies in more than 60 countries.
Global Consumption Database (World Bank)
Includes data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. Numbers are available for national, urban and rural regions and for different consumption segments (lowest, low, middle, and higher). Retrieve data by country, sector or product/service.
globalEDGE: Global Insights by Industry
Includes international business-related resources, statistics, risk assessments, and events for 20 distinct industry sectors.
Global Market Finder (Google)
A Google service that helps identify which markets/countries present the best opportunities for products and services. Based on search volume and the cost of advertising.
IBISWorld
Contains over 1,600 U.S., 430 Canadian and 75 global industry reports, many at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level.
International Agri-Food Market Intelligence (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
Browse categories or search for reports that cover global agriculture and food opportunities, market trends and forecasts, Canada’s free trade agreements.
International Directory of Company Histories, 99 volumes
Traces the historical development of over 4,500 of the largest and most influential public, private and non-profit companies around the world. Each volume has cumulative indexes: by company name (alphabetical), by industry, and by geography (country of company headquarters).
Location: STORAGE HD 2721.I57
IQS Directory: Industrial Quick Search Manufacturer Directory
Search or browse for industrial products and services from manufacturers, suppliers and distributors across Canada and the United States. Company profiles, industry information (e.g., definitions, background, etc.) and articles & press releases are included.
Manufacturing Worldwide: Industry Analyses, Statistics, Products, and Leading Companies and Countries
Provides manufacturing industry statistics for 190 countries around the world.
Location: MILLS Bookstacks HD 9720.4 M36 1995 & 1998
Market Share Reporter
A compilation of global market share data from periodical literature, competitive analysis and market research. Search by products and services; by company; by brands, by U.S. SIC and more.
Location: STORAGE HF 5410.M35 [1991-2018] - previously titled World Market Share Reporter STORAGE HD 2757.15 .W67 1997 to 2002 (Subscription Cancelled).
MarketResearch.com Academic
Contains hundreds of market research reports, some covering markets outside of North America.
Mergent Online
Contains company and financial data for publicly traded companies (active and inactive) around the world. Search by company name, American SIC or NAICS. The Investext tab in Mergent also contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research.
To find companies operating in another country, go to the Advanced Search tab > ensure the Corporate Information tab is selected at the top of the search criteria box [default], select Country of Incorporation and pick a country from the drop-down menu (e.g., Canada) > then select Country of Operations, and pick another country of interest (e.g., United States) in the drop-down menu. The countries will appear below the search criteria box. Find and click the >> submit button next to the Country of Operations. If there are Matches click the View link.
Nexis Uni
Includes business information (e.g., financials, executives, news, industry info, legal info, etc.) about public and private companies worldwide in two separate modules - Company Dossier and Company Information.
- To access Company Dossier from the Nexis Uni home page ...
  1. Click the Menu drop-down list (top left) and choose Company Dossier from the list.
  2. In the Dossier search form, search by company name, ticker symbol, company type, regions/countries and more.
  3. Click Search and view results.
- To access Company Information from the Nexis Uni home page ...
  1. Locate the Guided Search task pods.
  2. Choose Company Info in the What are you interested in? box.
  3. Enter a company name in the Search in all Company Information for: box.
  4. Choose one of the options in the drop-down list in the ...and show me box (i.e., All company information; Company Profile; Analyst Reports; Mergers and Acquisitions; SEC Filings).
  5. Click Search and view results.
OpenCorporates
The largest open database of companies in the world. Browse or search for 130 million companies by name. Filter by jurisdiction (i.e., geography), by company type, by current status and other variables.
Passport
Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers around the world. Try performing a keyword search for your country, industry or topic.
ProQuest One Business
Explore Companies and Industries pages to find scholarly articles, news, reports, video and other materials (profiles, reports, etc) on companies and industries worldwide.
Sector Risk Analysis - Business Risk Dashboard (Coface)
Provides risk assessments for 13 business sectors from six geographical regions. Assessments are based on Coface experts and financial data published by over 6,000 listed companies.
Statista
Contains statistics, market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics (daily data), market insights for countries all over the world.