Culture & Society

Afrobaromater - Africa Public Opinion Research
Measures attitudes on economic, political, and social issues in sub-Saharan Africa. Try the Online Data Analysis link to retrieve survey data for specific countries.
Countries and their Cultures, 4 volumes, 2001
Covers 225 countries. Topics covered include social stratification, gender roles and status, etiquette, socialization, political life, etc.
Location of Print: STORAGE GN 307 .C68 2001
Country Commercial Guides (CCG) (International Trade Administration)
Pick a country from one of the geography menus. Each guide typically includes a section on Business Travel which "includes information on business customs, travel advisory, visa requirements, currency, language, health, local time, business hours and holidays, acceptable business etiquette, dress, business cards, gifts, temporary entry of materials and personal belongings, etc."
Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World
Provides cultural and social tips for 40 countries.
Location: MILLS Library (3rd floor), Innis Collection Reference HF 1416.M78 2001
Earth Calendar
A daybook of holidays and celebrations around the world. Browse holidays by date, country, religion or lunar phases.
Eurobarometer: Public Opinion in the European Union (European Union)
Includes surveys and studies that deal with issues concerning European countries including social situation, health, culture, Information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, and more.
Global Happiness : A Guide to the Most Contented (and Discontented) Places Around the Globe, 2016
This e-book assesses what places (countries and cities) offer the happiest living experiences by considering quality of life, prospects for the future, social relations, confidence in good government, and several other factors.
Happy Planet Index (New Economics Foundation)
Measures the "efficiency with which countries convert the earth's finite resources into well-being experienced by their citizens." Based on calculations of life satisfaction and life expectancy in terms of ecological footprint.
International Business Etiquette, Manners & Cultures
Provides cultural profiles for 32 countries and six regions around the world. Each profile typically include sections on cultural dynamics, religion, appearance, behaviour, communication and additional resources. Scroll to the middle of the page to select a country or region.
International Business Guides (HSBC)
Guides for each country include brief chapters on Business etiquette (i.e., greetings, dress code, negotiations, business cards, sealing the deal entertaining, golden rules), Society & culture (i.e., language, food, religion, values, customs and celebrations) and Working practices and values. Other areas covered include the economy, labour and business, infrastructure, sustainability and more.
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, Sales and Marketing: The Essential Cultural Guide—From Presentations and Promotions to Communicating and Closing (2011)
Location: Online
Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: The Bestselling Guide to Doing Business in more than 60 Countries
Location: MILLS Library (3rd floor), Innis Collection Reference HF 5389 .M67 2006
Passport
Select CONSUMERS (across top of screen) and explore the menu options. Includes individual country reports on Consumer Behaviour and Values, Lifestyles, Consumer Types, Megatrends and more.
Statista
Includes 150+ country reports that contain data on consumers and the economy. From the Reports menu, select Country & Region Reports, or search for keywords in the search bar on the top right. Also from the Insights menu, select Explore Market Insights to find data on international markets (consumer, digital, e-commerce, industrial, health) and global Indicators which provides current and forecast data about a country's economy and society.
Trend Watching, 2020 to current
Bi-weekly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.
World Business Culture
Site provides business culture information for approximately 40 countries. Each country profile contains brief information on topics such as business structures, management style, communication style, business dress code, and entertaining.
World Values Survey (WVS) - Online Data Analysis, 1981-2022
Provides the state of sociocultural, moral, religious and political values of different cultures around the world.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Includes 500 cultures, listed in alphabetical order by region. A country index is included in the front of each volume. Entries typically cover customs, religion, education, human rights issues, interpersonal relations, living conditions, family life, food, work, and more.
Location: MILLS Bookstacks GN 333.W67 1998 (4 volumes)