Find and Use Existing Data and Statistics
Data Repositories
Existing research data can be found in data repositories.
- Federated Research Data Repository (FRDR)a platform for sharing and preserving Canadian research data
- Lunarissearch across numerous Canadian data sets, including FRDR; the “map search” discovery tool allows users to find open data from Canadian researchers by using an interactive map
- Re3dataa global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines
Be sure that data is appropriately licensed for your intended use.
Contact Research Data Management (RDM) Services for help finding appropriate data repositories.
Data and Statistics Collections
- McMaster University Library (MUL) Data/Statistics Collectionsearchable data/statistics collection administrated by MUL
- McMaster University Library (MUL) geospatial databasegeospatial database administrated by MUL
- Health Data & Statisticsguidance on health data and statistics administrated by the Health Sciences Library (HSL)
Data Services
Data Services helps researchers use specialized electronic research data products available through McMaster University Library (MUL).
Geographic Information Systems and Digital Mapping
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Services helps McMaster researchers find and use geospatial data, including accessing McMaster’s ArcGIS campus-wide site license. GIS Services also provide a helpful guide on GIS and geospatial data. Contact GIS Services for additional support.
Data Visualization Services
Data Visualization Services helps McMaster researchers develop data visualizations. They also provide a helpful Data Visualization Guide. Contact Data Visualization Services or schedule an appointment for help developing data visualizations.
Data Analysis Support Hub (DASH)
The Data Analysis Support Hub (DASH) assists with data analysis and software applications including Excel, SPSS, R, Python, and more. Book a consultation or contact DASH directly for additional information and support.
Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada is the national statistical office which provides key information on Canada's economy, society, and environment. To help researchers identify different ways of accessing this information, MUL offers A Guide to Data and Statistical Sources from Statistics Canada.
The Canadian Research Data Centre Network (CRDCN) provides unique access to Statistics Canada data, accessible at McMaster via Statistics Canada Research Data Centre at McMaster (RDC). Researchers must apply to obtain access.
Training
- Before You Dig: Finding and Reusing Datasetslearn more about finding and reusing datasets in data repositories across the world; potential new collaborators, verify or reproduce results, expand on existing data, and more
- Essentials of Open Data Sharinglearn the benefits (and potential risks) of data sharing and highlight some of the different data repository options available to researchers
- Sherman Centre Digital Visualization Workshopsworkshop recordings and online modules on topics such as: data analysis, digital scholarship, innovative software, and more
- Data Analysis Support Hub (DASH) Workshopsworkshop recordings and online modules including data analysis (scroll halfway down linked page for DASH workshop listings)
Feedback
The Digital Research Kickstarter is a living document that will be refined as we gather more information from users. We encourage and welcome any feedback. Please submit your feedback below or by emailing AskResearch.
