How do I Find Standards?

Access the ASME Digital Collection through the library—available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty, and staff.

The ASME Digital Collection is ASME’s authoritative, online reference for the mechanical engineering and related research communities. It includes topical collections on Automotive Systems, Biomedical Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Renewable Energy and more.

Coverage:

• ASME’s Journals from 1960 – present
• ASME’s Conference Proceedings from 2000 – present, plus select proceedings back to 1955
• ASME eBooks selected from 1993 – present
• ASME Standards.  Select "Standards" in the top-level navigation menu and then "click here to access via institutional account" in upper right of screen.

Features of the ASME Digital Collection include:

• Search tools that retrieve content simultaneously from journals, conference proceedings, and eBooks
• Advanced filtering tools to refine search results by keywords, topics, journal citation, and date range
• Topic Collections for specific subject areas
• Links to CrossRef, Google Scholar, and Web of Science to discover citing articles
• Tools for citation export
• Ability to share links by social media and email
• Email alerts for saved searches and newly published content

Access the ASME Standards Collection through the library (this collection can also be accessed via the ASME Digital Collection as described above).

ASME is the leading international developer of codes and standards associated with the art, science, and practice of mechanical engineering. These codes & standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing.

Search this database using a document number for a known item, or by title, title and abstract, or full text search options.