A Guide to EndNote

The Cite While You Write (CWYW) tool allows you to insert selected references into Microsoft Word and Google Docs. CWYW automatically creates and formats in-text citations and bibliographies in a variety of output styles (e.g. APA, MLA, etc.).

Microsoft Word

• The CWYW plug-in for Microsoft Word is automatically included when EndNote desktop is installed. Open a document in MS Word  and select the EndNote 21 (or EndNote 20) tab.

• The CWYW plug-in for Microsoft Word can also be added by selecting the Downloads link within EndNote online

Google Docs

• The CWYW plug-in for Google Docs (available to EndNote 21 users only) is available via the Google Workspace Marketplace. Once installed, open a document in Google Docs, go to the Extensions menu and select EndNote Cite While You Write.
  For more information, see: EndNote: Google Docs CWYW (Clarivate)
  

Once installed, the CWYW tool can be used with EndNote as described below.

EndNote 21 & 20 desktop

• EndNote 21: Cite While You Write: Insert Citation - Windows | macOS (Clarivate)
  EndNote 20: Cite While You Write: Insert Citation - Windows | macOS (Clarivate)

This quick reference guide shows how to find and insert references from your EndNote library while staying in Microsoft Word.

• EndNote 21: Cite While You Write: Insert Selected Citation(s) - Windows | macOS (Clarivate
  This quick reference guide shows how to select references to cite directly from your EndNote library.
   
• EndNote 21 & 20: Insert Selected Citation(s) [no audio] (1:15) (Clarivate)
  NOTE: Although this video was created for EndNote 20, this feature works the same in EndNote 21.
  Select references directly from your EndNote library to cite them within a Microsoft Word document. This video highlights the steps to create a
  grouped in-text citation to a Microsoft Word writing project using the Cite While You Write function called Insert Selected Citation(s).
   
• EndNote 21: Cite While You Write: Edit & Manage Citation(s) - Windows | macOS (Clarivate)
  EndNote 20: Cite While You Write: Edit & Manage Citation(s) - Windows | macOS (Clarivate)
  This quick reference guide outlines the steps involved when customizing the appearance of an in-text citation.
   
• EndNote 21 & 20: Edit & Manage Citation(s) [no audio] (0:50)(Clarivate)
  NOTE: Although this video was created for EndNote 20, this feature works the same in EndNote 21.
  Customize individual in-text citations using EndNote. This video shows the process of modifying the appearance of an EndNote-cited in-text citation via the Cite While You Write command known as Edit & Manage Citation(s).
   
• How to Cite While You Write (CWYW) in Microsoft Word? (Rutgers University Libraries)

EndNote web - available exclusively to EndNote 21 users

• More information from Clarivate may be coming soon

EndNote online

The Cite-While-You-Write (CWYW) plug-in can be added by selecting the Downloads link within EndNote online.

• EndNote online: Cite While You Write (CWYW) (Clarivate)
  With this CWYW add-in for Microsoft Word, you can insert references and format in-text citations and bibliographies while writing your research papers.

The Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in is automatically included when EndNote desktop is installed and can be downloaded from EndNote online. The plug-in allows you to insert selected references to work with Microsoft Word documents and create a bibliography according to a selected output style.

EndNote desktop

• How to Create a Formatted Bibliography (Rutgers University Library)
  NOTE: Although written for EndNote 20, these instructions should work similarly in EndNote 21
   

EndNote web - available exclusively to EndNote 21 users

• More information from Clarivate may be coming soon

EndNote online

To create a bibliography ...

1. Sign-in to EndNote online
2. Go to the Format tab and select Bibliography.
3. In the References: drop-down menu, select the folder or group that you want to use as the source for your bibliography
4. In the Bibliographic style: drop-down menu, select a bibliographic output style from the list (i.e., APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).
5. In the File format drop-down menu, select one of the file formats listed: HTML, TXT (plain text) or RTF (rich text format).
6. Click the Save, E-mail or Preview & Print button.