Overview

Claiming and adding your personal identifiers (such as ORCID, Scopus ID, Researcher ID, Dimensions ID, email addresses, etc.) is the easiest way to collect and keep your publications updated in the Experts Profile Manager. Once your personal identifiers are claimed, whenever a publication is found in a database with claimed identifiers, they will be automatically added to the Claimed list.

Setting Up Personal Identifiers

1. Log into the McMaster Experts Profile Manager (a guide on logging into the profile manager is available).
2. Navigate the menu as follows: Menu (top right left) > My Profile > “Automatic Claiming” (under the “Settings” heading).
   • This page will show identifiers that have already been confirmed as yours, as well as those that the system believes might be yours (based on other claimed publications, name, institution, and other pieces of data).
3. You can determine how each of the identifiers is treated by clicking on “Manage”.
   • Selecting “Auto claim associated items” means all future publications associated with the ID will be automatically added to the Claimed list, without manual approval required from you.
   • Selecting “Auto reject items” means all future publications associated with the ID will be automatically added to the Rejected list, without manual approval required from you.
     
     
     
     
4. Any additional personal identifiers can be added manually by selecting the option under “Add External Profiles” and adding the relevant identifier.
5. Add any additional email addresses that may be used in publication under “Add email addresses”:
   

Overview

McMaster Experts searches publication databases to match researcher profiles with the academic works that belong to them. If the researcher has claimed their personal identifiers (Scopus ID, Web of Science ID, Dimensions ID, ORCID, etc.) in Experts, any works associated with the identifiers will be automatically claimed and added to the Claimed list. Works which match the researcher’s profile based on fields such as names and institution, but are not associated with a unique identifier, are placed in the Pending list to be manually claimed or rejected by the researcher (or their delegate, where applicable).

Manually claimed works will move to the “Claimed” list and appear on the researcher’s external McMaster Experts profile.

Claiming and Adding Scholarly Works

1. Log into the McMaster Experts Profile Manager (a guide on logging into the profile manager is available).
2. Navigate the menu as follows: Menu (top right left) > My Profile (under the “My Work” heading) > Publications
   • On the “My publications” page, you can view and edit publications in your profile, manually add new publications, and claim/reject those that are pending review.
     • Select the “Claimed” tab to view or edit records for all publications currently in your profile
     • Select the “Pending” tab to view new publications that have been suggested as yours. You can claim them (add to the “Claimed” list) or reject them (add to the “Rejected” list)
     • Select the “Rejected” tab to view all suggested publications that have been rejected as not yours. Publications in “Rejected” will never show up again in your “Pending” list
     • Click the “Add a new publication” button to search for a publication or create one manually.

Overview

There are two situations in which a record for a scholarly work may need to be manually created:

1. Not all scholarly works can be found in online databases, meaning they cannot be automatically or manually claimed; in these cases, a manual record needs to be created (or a more thorough search through publication databases is required).
2. Metadata in an existing record for a scholarly work (from an online database) needs to be corrected. Once a manual record is created for an existing publication, it will be the default representation (a publication may have multiple representations/records due to appearing in multiple databases). The changes should reflect on your external facing profile page after at most 4 hours.

Manually Creating a Record for a Scholarly Work

1. Log into the McMaster Experts Profile Manager (a guide on logging into the profile manager is available).

2. Navigate the menu as follows: Menu (top right left) > My Profile (under the “My Work” heading) > Publications

3. Click the blue “plus sign” button, then select the publication type from the menu in the window that will open:
   
   
   
    

4. First, the user will have the (non-mandatory) option to perform a deeper search for the work on online databases. Search by Title or DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is possible. If it is found, it can be “Claimed”, at which point it will be added to the “Claimed” list.
   

5. If the scholarly work is not found during the enhanced search (or the enhanced search is skipped), the publication record fields can be filled in manually. Enter as much information as possible and save your updates:
   
    

Overview

When you add a scholarly work (ex. journal publication) or grant via the Experts Profile Manager, it will automatically appear on your public Experts profile as well in the corresponding section and category. The privacy of objects (ex. scholarly works, grants) is set at the system level, but you can control the privacy of your relationship to the object, which allows you to hide objects from public view and/or discovery by other users in the Profile Manager.

The Experts Profile Manager offers 3 privacy options for objects such as scholarly works and grants:

1. Public - The work will be publicly displayed on your public Experts profile. NOTE, this is the default value for scholarly works and grants. If you wish to hide your publication or grant from public view, you must update the relationship privacy. See below for detailed instructions.
2. Internal - The work will not be publicly displayed on your public Experts profile, BUT, it will be discoverable if other users of the Experts Profile Manager search for it.
3. Private - The work will not be publicly displayed on your public Experts profile and will not be discoverable to other users of the Experts Profile Manager. Only other users with a relationship to the object (ex. co-author, co-applicant) will be able to see the object.

Update Relationship Privacy for Existing Scholarly Works or Grants

Select the globe icon for the record in your Scholarly Works or Grants list, then click the appropriate relationship privacy option:

Setting Privacy for a Manual Scholarly Work or Grant Record

When creating a manual record for a scholarly work or grant, you can specify the appropriate relationship privacy using the same options described above. Note: the first privacy field is set at the system level and is locked, but updating the relationship privacy will ensure that your record is not public/discoverable as applicable.

Overview

The Experts Profile Manager publication module performs regular, automated searches against a variety of publication databases (Web of Science, Scopus, PubMed, CrossRef, among others) to identify publications that may belong to users. If a potential publication is found with a direct match with a user's email address or ORCiD (if added to their profile) it is automatically claimed and placed in their "Claimed" list; otherwise, it is placed in the "Pending" queue for manual review.

In some cases, the user's Pending queue may be overpopulated with false positive publications (a typical example would be when individuals with common surnames are matched with publications which do not belong to them). In other cases, the module may fail to identify rightful publications (a typical example would be when articles are missed for individuals who have used a variety of publishing names over their career due to multiple publishing identities).

In such cases, the user's search terms may be modified to narrow or broaden the scope of searches and ensure that all publications are captured.

Overview

If you notice publications in your Scholarly Works list for which you are not the author, then it is likely that the works were added automatically as a result of either your "Automatic Claiming" or "Name-based Search" settings. You can follow the instructions below to configure the settings for both to ensure that only your own publications appear on your Experts profile:

• Configure Automatic Claiming
• Configure Name-based Search settings

The search terms that have the greatest impact are name variants (variations of your name under which you’ve published) and addresses (cities or institutions where you’ve published). When your profile was created the following default search terms were added:

Name variants – “Lastname, initial”.
Addresses – none

Adding terms to both will improve the results of your search. If you have a common last name, adding the institutions and cities in which you have published will help narrow the results and reduce the incidence of false-positive results. Please note that once you add one or more address terms, your search will be restricted to those addresses. For this reason, it's important to add all of the institutions or cities where you've published.

After adjusting your search settings, you must clear (i.e. reset) your pending queue and re-run your search in order to refresh your pending queue. You can do this as many times as necessary to find the optimal combination of search terms.

You can rerun your search any time from the "Name-based Search" settings page by selecting "Run My Searchers":

Overview

Faculty members may already have a curriculum vitae (CV) in an external system. In these cases, CVs can be uploaded to Experts in the Endnote or Bibtex formats. This guide will use Google Scholar as an example of a service that includes a CV. Below, we will:

1. Export a CV from Google Scholar
2. Import the CV into Experts
3. Export the CV from Experts

Exporting Publications From Google Scholar

1. On your Google Scholar profile, select all your publications (see left arrow), then click the export button (see right arrow).

2. In the export options dropdown, select BibTeX then in the pop up, choose "export all my articles" and click on export.

Windows

3. On the following page, right click and select save as. When saving the file, type in ".bib" at the end of the file and save as type "all files."

Mac

3. On the following page, right click and select save as. When saving the file, type in ".bib" at the end of the file and save as format "all files."

Uploading Exported Citations into Experts

1. From the top left menu, select “Import Publications” under the “Tools” heading on the “My Profile” tab.
2. Click and drag or browse to select a file to upload per the directions, using one of the formats indicated:
   
3. New records will be created for any imported publications that didn’t previously exist in your “Claimed” list and can be managed there. The import process will analyze the contents of the file and automatically match the records to publication records already available within the system where possible.

Exporting Publications From Experts

1. You can navigate to the “Publications” tile on the landing page and select “View All”. You can also select the Main Menu in the top left corner of the screen. The, select “Publications” under the “My Work” heading on the “My Profile” tab.
2. The publications to be exported can be chosen in three ways:
   1. Individually choosing articles by selecting their check boxes
   2. Selecting all articles on the page by selecting the checkbox
   3. Selecting all publications by clicking the “Export” button

Overview

The McMaster Experts Profile Manager is fully integrated with MacSphere – McMaster University’s Institutional Repository (IR). See Getting Started with MacSphere for more information about MacSphere.

Claimed publications in the Experts Profile Manager can be used to streamline the deposit of open access full text into MacSphere. Depositing your publications via Experts Manager simplifies the workflow and reduces the time and effort as the bibliographic information is already in Experts Manager.

By depositing the full text in MacSphere, you fulfill the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications requirement that peer-reviewed journal publications resulting from Tri-Agency (NSERC, SSHRC or CIHR) grants be freely accessible online within 12 months of publication. Additional information about Open Access publishing and its benefits is available.

Depositing Publications to MacSphere

1. Log into the McMaster Experts Profile Manager (a guide on logging into the profile manager is available).
2. Navigate to your list of publications by selecting "View All" on the Publication tile on the homepage:
   
3. From your list of publications, click on the blue "deposit" button to initiate the process of depositing your publication in MacSphere:
   
4. On the deposit page, you are asked to review your deposit and attach a full-text version of your article.
   IMPORTANT: Before uploading an article, you should review the publisher’s policies to understand which versions of the article you can share and whether an embargo is required.
   • If shown, use the SHERPA RoMEO advice tab to get a summary of the Open Access route permitted for the Submitted, Accepted, or Published version of your article. In some cases, you may have to check the specific journal policies for permissions (a link to the journal policies is provided at the bottom of the SHERPA RoMEO record). If no advice is provided and/or you are unsure of the journal policy, contact the Library’s Scholarly Communication team (scom@mcmaster.ca) for assistance.
   • When uploading a full-text article to deposit, you will have the option to use the file presented to you (if found elsewhere on the web), OR use the Browse button to select the article you wish to upload from your file directory.  
   • Once you have selected the appropriate file version, click the blue “Use this file” button. If additional files, such as figures or supplementary information, need to be uploaded, do so by clicking “Upload another file”.
     
5. Once a file for a deposit has been selected, an embargo can be specified if required. If an article is embargoed, a record is created in MacSphere, but the full-text file is not downloadable until the embargo period expires. The embargo is applied from the date of deposit:
   
6. Clicking on Deposit will immediately deposit your publication in MacSphere. Please note that by depositing, you confirm that you agree to the MacSphere license.
7. If you have any questions about depositing your publications in MacSphere, please contact scom@mcmaster.ca. If you experience difficulty depositing your publication to MacSphere via the McMaster Experts Profile Manager, please contact experts@mcmaster.ca for support.