Icon Descriptions
Best Bet!
Key source.
Open Access
Online source accessible to everyone, anywhere.
McMaster Users Only
Online source accessible to current McMaster students, faculty and staff only. MacID@mcmaster.ca required.
Company Sources
- Mergent Online
- includes active and inactive, publicly traded companies in all industries worldwide
- find companies by name, ticker, industry code (SIC, NAICS), index, exchange, country
- each company profile typically includes an overview, company financials, annual reports, news, and other reports
- Factiva
- includes mostly active, publicly traded companies worldwide
- select Companies/Markets link and click on Company from the menu to search by name
- each company profile/snapshot typically includes news, financials, competitors and more.
- Nexis Uni
- sections within the database provide company profiles for public and private companies worldwide
- select Company Info from the Guided Search task pods and/or select Company Dossier from the Menu drop-down list (top of screen)
- find companies by name, ticker, company type (private, public), industry code (SIC or NAICS), geography (country, city) and more
- Hoover's Company Records
- includes active public (and some private) company profiles
- international in scope, but with an emphasis on U.S. companies
- Canadian Business Database
- contains brief profiles of public and private businesses in Canada.
- find companies by name, industry codes (SIC or NAICS), geography (city, street or postal code), employee size, sales volume, and more.
- Corporations Canada
- lists non-profit organizations and other corporations in Canada
- find entries by corporate name, corporate number, business number, province or registered office, and more.
- NonProfit Explorer
- lists non-profit organizations in the United States
- find entries by name, state, nonprofit category (e.g., health) and organization type.