Icon Descriptions
Best Bet!
Key source.
Open Access
Online source accessible to everyone, anywhere.
McMaster Users Only
Online source accessible to current McMaster students, faculty and staff only. MacID@mcmaster.ca required.
Demographic & Psychographic Info
Find demographic (age, sex, income, etc) and psychographic data (i.e., consumer habits, values, attitudes, lifestyles, etc.) for your target market.
American Attitudes: Who Thinks What about the Issues that Shape Our LivesPublication Date: 2015 (8th ed.), 2014 (7th ed.), 2010 (6th ed.), 2005 (4th ed.)Organized into 9 chapters: Public Arena, Government and Politics, Science and Information, Religion, Work and Money, Family and Friends, Race, Personal Outlook, and Sexual Attitudes and Behavior. Based on the U.S. General Social Survey (GSS).
Location: ONLINE and PRINT
American Generations: Who They Are and How They LivePublication Date: 2013 (8th ed.), 2010 (7th ed.), 2005 (5th ed.), 2003 (4th ed.)Compare and contrast the demographics of the six living generations--iGeneration, Millennial, Generation X, Baby Boom, Swing, and World War II. Includes the demographics of each generation and examines their attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. U.S. focus
Locations: ONLINE and PRINT
American Time Use: Who Spends How Long at WhatPublication Date: 2010 (2nd ed.), 2007Presents the demographics of how people of different ages spend their time. U.S. focus.
Locations: ONLINE and PRINT
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer DemandPublication Date: 2018 (12th ed.), 2012 (9th ed.), 2011 (8th ed.), 2010 (7th ed.), 2009 (6th ed.), 2008 (5th ed.), 2006 (4th ed.), 2005 (3rd ed.), 2001 (2nd ed.)Identifies who the best customers are for selected products and services. U.S. focus.
Locations: ONLINE and PRINT
- ArcGIS Business Analyst Online - request an ArcGIS account from Maps/Data/GIS
Uses web-based GIS mapping technology to visualize demographic, lifestyle, behavioural, psychographic (e.g. PRIZM), spending and other data for Canada (& other countries). Covers Canadian provinces, cities, neighbourhoods and more. Create and export data, maps, reports & infographics. Here's a sample PRIZM Segmentation Area Profile of Hamilton extracted from ArcGIS Business Analyst
- DataBank (World Bank)
Includes a wide variety of demographic data for countries around the world.
- Make Shift (TrendWatching), 2020 to current
Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide
- MarketResearch.com Academic
Includes demographic reports on various consumer groups and cohorts such as Generation Z, Millennials, Affluent food shoppers, etc. U.S. emphasis.
- Passport
Includes reports and statistics covering worldwide consumer and demographic information. The Consumers menu has a Lifestyles section that includes consumer reports for Canada (& other countries) entitled Consumer Overview, Consumer Types, Consumer Values, Consumer Behaviour, and Consumers Tomorrow. These reports covers topics such as life priorities, leisure, technology, home life, health, working life, and shopping.
- PRIZM Lifestyle Lookup by Canadian Postal Code (Environics Analytics)
Input a residential Canadian postal code to retrieve a lifestyle description for that neighbourhood.
NOTE: This data is free to the general public. Additional PRIZM data is available in ArcGIS Business Analyst.
- Statista
Includes statistics, reports and infographics on a variety of topics such as consumer habits and preferences. International in scope.