How Do I Find Business Cases?

The following is a list of sources that provide open access business cases online for free.

• Acadia Institute of Case Studies [archived link] (Acadia University, Canada)
  Provides cases and various other educational resource materials that focus on Canadian entrepreneurship and small business operations that reflect "real world" situations.
   
• Arthur Andersen Case Studies in Business Ethics (Carnegie Mellon, Tepper School of Business, United States)
  A collection of 85 mini & 9 major cases (with teaching notes) dealing with business ethics in the areas of accounting, finance, management and marketing. Produced in cooperation with over 520 institutions including McMaster University between 1987-1994. 
   
• Business Case Studies
  Browse over 600 business cases by category or by company.  Worldwide coverage.
   
• The Case Centre: Free Cases
  Includes "free cases produced by a number of prominent schools and organisations across the globe. You must be registered and logged in to their website to access free cases. Once logged in you can use the 'show only items in the free case collection' tick box on our product search to search all free cases." Worldwide coverage.
   
• Case Studies in Business, Industry and Government Statistics: CSBIGS (Societe Francaise de Statistique, Toulouse School of Economics, France)
  Includes case studies in modern data analysis that can be used for instruction, training or self-study.
   
• CLEO (Curriculum Library for Employee Ownership) Free Case Studies (Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations, United States)
  Case studies related to employee owned companies.
   
• Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative Case Bank (Daniels Fund, United States)
  Cases present real-world ethical challenges designed to prompt reflection and discussion.
   
• The Ethical Leadership Case Study Collection (Ted Rogers Leadership Centre, Toronto Metropolitan University, Canada)
  Cases provide real-life decision-making scenarios that hone critical-thinking skills and good leadership qualities. Both long-form and mini case studies are included. Teaching-method notes are also provided (i.e., in-class facilitation methods, grading rubrics, references, student feedback).
   
• Ethics Unwrapped: Cases (McCombs School of Business, The University of Texas at Austin, United States)
  "More than 50 case studies match ethics concepts to real world situations. From journalism to performing arts to foreign policy to scientific research to social work, these cases explore a range of current and historic ethical dilemmas, their motivating biases, and their consequences. Each case includes discussion questions, related videos, and a bibliography for further reading."
   
• IBIMA Business Review (IBIMA Publishing)
  A peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes case studies in all business fields.
   
• Journal of Business Case Studies (JBCS)
  Includes case studies designed for use in business and economics courses and articles related to the use of case studies in the classroom.
   
• Journal of Business Cases and Applications (JBCA)
  Includes cases and exercises developed for classroom use in any area of business education. ​​
   
• Journal of Case Research and Business Economics (JCRBE) 
  Published original case studies related to contemporary business issues. Ceased publication (2009-2014).
   
• Journal of Information Systems Education (JISE)
  Includes teaching cases and notes (upon request) that focus on information systems.
   
• Markkula Center for Applied Ethics (Santa Clara University, United States)
  Contains case studies and scenarios on a variety of fields in applied ethics including business ethics, leadership ethics, and more.
   
• The MENA Journal of Business Case Studies (IBIMA Publishing)
  International peer reviewed journal that focuses on various business areas, corporations and organizations in the MENA (Middle East and North Africa) region.
   
• MERLOT Materials > Business > Case Study
  The Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching includes case studies contributed by educators worldwide. Filter by discipline, audience and other criteria. Most materials are available at no cost.
   
• MIT Sloan School of Management Case Studies (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States)
  Includes both free and fee based cases. Search or browse for cases in the following categories: Entrepreneurship, Leadership/Ethics, Operations Management, Strategy, Sustainability, and System Dynamics.
   
• New York Times Case Studies [archived link] 2009-2014.
  The case studies address challenges confronted by small business owners. Options and decisions are included. U.S. coverage.
   
• Open Case Studies (University of British Columbia, Canada)
  Includes case studies on a number of topics such as business, environmental sustainability, public policy and global affairs, social justice and more.
   
• SDG (Sustainable Development Goals) Cases (Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University, The Netherlands)
  Cases discuss the challenges, dilemmas and contributions of businesses using the UN Sustainable Development Goals as a framework.
   
• SHRM (Society for Human Resource Management): Case Studies, United States
  Case studies on a specific HR related topic or challenge faced by an organization. Instructor resources and student workbook are included.
   
• Social Innovation & Social Entrepreneurship: Case Studies & Case Videos (Portland State University, The School of Business, United States)
  Cases on social entrepreneurship and sustainability written by Portland State University faculty, staff, and students.
   
• World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD), Switzerland
  Includes environmental and sustainability themed case studies.
   
• Yale School of Management: Free Cases (Yale School of Management, United States)
  Free cases written by faculty at Yale.