Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to McMaster!

Mills Memorial Library

Mills is home to our Humanities and Social Sciences collections, as well as wide range of special services and resources. Link here to our Social Sciences and Humanities Library Guides, How-to's .... 

Photo of students studying in the Learning Commons, and asking questions at its IT Help Desk. This two storey group study area is located on the second floor of Mills Memorial Library.

The Lewis and Ruth Sherman Centre for Digital Scholarship provides consulting, instruction, and technical support to faculty, staff, and  students with all levels of technological experience. Sherman Centre staff consult on any stage or aspect of a research or pedagogical project to help determine the approaches that best suit the project–whether big or small. The Sherman Centre hosts a regular workshop series, a graduate colloquium, a visiting scholar series, and two undergraduate courses. Our scholarly and technical research projects range from software development, 3D printing and modelling, visualization, and social media data ethics and management.

Photo of a researcher seated in the Sherman Centre for Digital Scholarship surrounded by computers and related digital research equipment and materials

The Library Accessibility Services (LAS) office assists students referred by Student Accessibility Services (SAS) in obtaining alternate format class materials (texts, supplementary readings, custom courseware, and if needed, lecture notes).  LAS is also able to assist students in finding library material in an alternate format, such as books, journals, and reserve readings.  We also provide library instruction taking into account assistive technology. 

Students registered with SAS can obtain access to CATS (Campus Accessible Tech Space), a quiet barrier-free area on the second floor of Mills. This area hosts both private and collaborative study areas in addition to a destressing area that features games, activities and comfortable seating.

The LAS office assists instructors in providing captioning services for videos viewed in class, as well as caption editing for Echo 360 lecture captures.   

Members of the McMaster community are welcome to contact LAS for our Braille Conversion and Printing Service. We can work with most document types. In the past, we have converted and printed wayfinding signage, lecture notes and exams, conference proceedings, menus, art and graphs.

A photograph of a sofa with a bookcase on the left of the photo and a green beanbag chair front of the bookcase.  The sofa has material that surrounds it on the sides and above it to provide a quiet environment for anyone who sits there.

The William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections is the home for rare books, archives, antiquarian maps, and related historical material held by McMaster University Libraries. Our holdings include an internationally renowned collection of rare books and archives, ranging from 12th century manuscripts to contemporary science fiction, the archives of pacifists to letters from soldiers in both world wars, classical literature, experimental poetry, local church registers, and much, much more. Our collections support teaching, learning and research at McMaster for undergraduates, graduates and faculty, and contribute to scholarship all over the world. Follow these links to access our Guide to Archival Research and Guide to the William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections.

Composite photo. Includes old book, colour posters on a wall and a room with desks and bookshelves

McMaster Library's Maps, Data, GIS Centre supports the geographic, geospatial, statistics, and research data needs of our students, staff, and faculty at McMaster University. It provides researchers with access to a wide range of maps, geospatial, statistical and microdata sets, as well as resources and support for managing research data.

Photo of two students examining maps on map cabinets in McMaster Library's Maps, Data, GIS Centre

Lyons New Media Centre (LNMC) offers a variety of services to assist students.  Our staff have created tutorials and guides on a variety of media subjects and can point you to various software that is free/open source or temporary access during the pandemic (including Adobe Creative Cloud, Audacity, Gimp, iMovie and Windows Movie Maker). Our Digital Media Specialist also offers online office hours along with specific sessions for students in a particular class. Lyons staff are available to answer any media-related questions. Go to the ‘Get Help’ tab on the Library website and click ‘Media help’. Link here to our Media and Multimedia Library Guides, How-to's ... 

  • Have to shoot a video for a class project, but you don't have a camera? We can help with that!
  • Want to tinker with cool tech like Virtual Reality (VR) headsets?
  • Or maybe relax making some origami, knitting or colouring? Pop by and see what we have to offer!

Photo of audio recording booth at the Lyons New Media Centre on the fourth floor of Mills Memorial Library. It includes a lamp, computer, sound absorbing walls, microphone, headphone, and chairs.

H.G. Thode Library of Science & Engineering

Thode is your first stop for access to our scholarship and foundational materials available for the sciences and engineering programs. Link here to our Science and Engineering Library Guides, How-to's ...

Photo of a student walking into a red brick building with sign reading " H.G. Thode Library"

 

Located on the lower level of Thode Library, the Makerspace is a joint effort between McMaster University Library and the Faculty of Engineering. It provides a new interdisciplinary experiential learning space where the McMaster community can gather to create, invent, prototype, and learn. Use of the Makerspace is governed by the code of conduct.  McMaster students, staff, and instructors from all disciplines are welcome to use our equipment!

  • 3D Printers (Prusa i3 Mk2/Mk3)*
  • Laser Cutter/Engraver (Trotec)*
  • Desktop PCB Milling Machine (Bantam Tools)
  • Drill Press*
  • Sewing Machine 
  • Soldering Station*
  • PCB Mill
  • Hand Tools
  • Power Tools
  • Electronics (Arduino UNO, Raspberry Pi, Circuit Board, Jumper Wires, LED Lights, Resistors and more)

When the Thode Makerspace is open, if you are planning on using any of the specialized tools marked with an *asterisk*, you will need to complete the online safety training course.

Photos of students using the tools and resources in the Thode Makerspace, which is located in the H.G. Thode Library of Science & Engineering.

Need a study break? The Reactor Cafe is located right in Thode Library and is the perfect place for you to rest and recharge. With a menu of pastries, quick meals, vegan and vegetarian alternatives, and specialty drinks, the Reactor has everything you need to stay focused and motivated for those long study sessions.

Photo of the Reactor Cafe with food display cases, coffee machines, beverage refrigerator, tables and chairs, and counter space. It is located on the main level of H.G. Thode Science and Engineering Library.

Health Sciences Library

The Health Sciences Library (HSL) is nestled into the McMaster Children's Hospital on campus. This library features different resources specific to Health Sciences, cozy reading rooms, and loads of space for collaborative or quiet study. Check out this video playlist for a thorough orientation to HSL!

   Photo of the quiet group study room, featuring floor to ceiling windows and many upholstered chairs, on the lower level of the Health Sciences Library.

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email