Finding SoTL Journals
Finding SoTL Journals
By its nature, higher education research literature – including SoTL – is interdisciplinary. ​ Scholars publish on teaching and learning both in their disciplinary journals and in interdisciplinary, education-focused journals. As such, to complete a thorough search of the SoTL literature, researchers should look in a variety of venues, including across several databases and in specific journals.
This section of the guide allows to you link directly to relevant journals in a variety of disciplines. Clicking on a journal title will take you to the Library's resource page of that journal title - some titles have multiple listings, and some titles have multiple options for accessing the resource.
You will have to log in with your MacID and password to access the resources from off-campus.
To see a list of multidisciplinary SoTL journals, visit The MacPherson Institute's list here
Note that this list is in no way exhaustive. If you have any recommendations, please contact us at liblearn@mcmaster.ca
SoTL Journals by Discipline
Science
Advances in Health Sciences Education
The Journal includes articles on topics such as admissions, problem-based and self-directed learning, faculty development, achievement testing, motivation, curriculum development, curricular comparisons, program evaluation, expertise development, clinical reasoning, continuing education, community-based education, and communication skills
Education in the anatomical and physiological sciences. In particular, education in gross anatomy, embryology, histology, neurosciences, physiology, biomedical, and life sciences. The journal covers all levels of education including, undergraduate, graduate, post-graduate, nursing, allied health, veterinary, medical (both allopathic and osteopathic), and dental.
Journal of Computers in Mathematics and Science Teaching
An international journal for mathematics and science teachers of all levels. Articles cover various aspects of computer literacy and much more.
Journal of Research in Science Teaching
Includes investigations employing qualitative, ethnographic, historical, survey, philosophical, case study research, quantitative, experimental, quasi-experimental, data mining, and data analytics approaches; position papers; policy perspectives; critical reviews of the literature; and comments and criticism.
Research in Science and Technological Education
An original research journal publishing international perspectives on science and/or design technology education. Includes scholarly research that investigates and interrogates the psychological, sociological, economic and organizational aspects of science and design technology education, as well as developments within the global curriculum.
Canadian Journal of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education
Includes research investigations using experimental, qualitative, ethnographic, historical, philosophical, or case study approaches; critical reviews of the literature; policy perspectives; and position papers, curriculum arguments, and discussion of issues in teacher education.
Biology
Advances in Physiology Education
Peer-reviewed descriptions of innovations that improve teaching in the classroom and laboratory, essays on education, and review articles based on our current understanding of physiological mechanisms.
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education
A journal aimed to enhance teacher preparation and student learning in biochemistry, molecular biology, and related sciences such as biophysics and cell biology.
CBE Life Sciences Education (name changed in 2005 from Cell Biology Education)
Peer-reviewed articles on life science education at the K–12, undergraduate, and graduate levels. Focuses on how students are introduced to the study of life sciences, as well as approaches in cell biology, developmental biology, neuroscience, biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, bioinformatics, and proteomics.
Journal of Biological Education
The journal provides a forum where the latest advances in research into the teaching, learning and assessment of biology can contribute to policy and practice in biological education for all ages.
Journal of Microbiology & Biology Education
Publishes discipline based education research, educational perspectives and insights, and tools for teaching microbiology and related disciplines. Articles address topics such as STEM education research, pedagogy and course design, student engagement and motivation, citizen science, education transformation.
A nationally recognized journal, offers articles on recent advances in biology and life science, instructional activities for the classroom and laboratory, and interdisciplinary programs.
Chemistry
Publishes peer-reviewed articles and related information as a resource to those in the field of chemical education and to those institutions that serve them. The journal typically addresses chemical content, laboratory experiments, instructional methods, and pedagogies.
Chemistry Education Research and Practice
The journal for teachers, researchers and other practitioners in chemistry education.
Mathematics and Statistics
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), JRME is the premier research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
Journal of Statistics Education
JSE disseminates knowledge for the improvement of statistics education at all levels, including elementary, secondary, post-secondary, post-graduate, continuing, and workplace education.
Mathematics Education Research Journal
The Mathematics Education Research Journal seeks to present research that promotes new knowledge, ideas, methodologies and epistemologies in the field of mathematics education.
Statistics Education Research Journal
SERJ aims to advance research-based knowledge that can help to improve the teaching, learning, and understanding of statistics or probability at all educational levels and in both formal (classroom-based) and informal (out-of-classroom) contexts.
Devoted to improving mathematics instruction from grade 8-14 and supporting teacher education programs. It provides a forum for sharing activities and pedagogical strategies, deepening understanding of mathematical ideas, and linking mathematics education research to practice.
Physics and Astronomy
Astronomy Education Review is an online journal for those interested in astronomy and space science education, in either formal or informal settings. It includes refereed journal articles on the results of astronomy education research.
The American Journal of Physics
The mission of the American Journal of Physics (AJP) is to publish articles on the educational and cultural aspects of physics that are useful, interesting, and accessible to a diverse audience of physics students, educators, and researchers.
The Physical Review: Special Topics: Physics Education Research
The journal covers the full array of experimental and theoretical research relating to the teaching and learning of physics and astronomy. PRPER is the only fully open access journal for physics education research.
Physics Education is the international journal for everyone involved with the teaching of physics in schools and colleges. The articles reflect the needs and interests of secondary school teachers, teacher trainers and those involved with courses up to introductory undergraduate level.
TPT publishes peer-reviewed papers on the teaching of introductory physics and on topics such as contemporary physics, applied physics, and the history of physics.
Engineering
Computer Applications in Engineering Education
Focuses and distributes current efforts made in computer-assisted engineering education, including new software, educational technologies, computer use in laboratories, and visualization techniques.
Education for Chemical Engineers
Papers demonstrating how educational research results can be applied to chemical engineering education. Contains education research papers, teaching and learning notes and resource reviews.
European Journal of Engineering Education
Provides an essential forum for dialogue between researchers in the field of engineering education.
IEEE Transactions on Education
Features educational methods, technology, materials and development programs. Explores the impact of research on education.
International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education
Provides information on the teaching of electrical engineering and electronics at university and technical college level
International Journal of Mechanical Engineering Education
Focuses on the discussion of the principles and practices of the training professional and technical and mechanical engineers.
Journal of Engineering Education
A vital partner in the global effort to improve engineering education worldwide. The journal cultivates, disseminates, and archives scholarly research in engineering education from pre-college to post-graduate professional level.
Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering Education and Practice
Seeks to help grow and develop all aspects of civil engineering education and related disciplines (construction, architecture, and environmental engineering).
Computing and Software
ACM Transactions of Computing Education
Publishes research articles on all aspects of computing education of interest to computing education researchers, computing educators, instructional designers, teacher educators, school administrators, policy makers, and other stakeholders.
Publishes high-quality papers that are situated in the computing education research literature and draw on diverse theories and research methods, including those that borrow from allied fields such as educational psychology, cognitive science, and the learning sciences
Art
The Journal of Aesthetic Education
The journal welcomes articles on philosophical aesthetics and education, problem areas in education critical to arts and humanities at all institutional levels.
Communication Studies and New Media
Publishes original scholarship that advances understanding of the role of communication in and/or about teaching and learning processes in diverse spaces, structures, and interactions, within and outside of academia.
Journalism & Mass Communication Educator
Addresses the professional needs of the journalism and mass communication educator and administrator on both collegiate and secondary levels.
English
Magazine containing articles on the working concepts of criticism, the nature of critical and scholarly reasoning, pedagogy and educational theory, and issues of concern to college English teachers.
A journal that aims to build and sustain a vibrant discourse around teaching in English studies. Covers all areas of English studies from literature and literary criticism to composition and cultural studies.
Research in the Teaching of English
A journal composed of original research and scholarly essays on the relationships between language teaching and learning at all levels, preschool through adult.
Gender Studies and Feminist Research
Covers such topics as multiculturalism, interdisciplinarity, and distance education within a feminist context.
History
Publishes inspirational, award-winning scholarship on innovative techniques in history education.
Teaching History: A Journal of Methods
Teaching History’s purpose has been to provide teachers at all levels with the best and newest ideas for their classrooms.
Published by Historical Association, providing history teachers at all levels with the best and newest teaching ideas for their classrooms.
Languages
Contains articles about teaching and learning languages; applied linguistics, language policy, and current issues; and ideas for practical classroom teaching.
Language Teaching is the essential research resource for language professionals providing a rich and expert overview of research in the field of second-language teaching and learning.
The Canadian modern language review/ La Revue canadienne des langues vivantes
Contains articles on pedagogy, applied linguistics, methodology, sociolinguistic classroom techniques, core, basic & French immersion & on English, German, Italian, & Spanish as second languages.
Promotes scholarly exchange among teachers and researchers of all modern foreign languages and English as a second language.
Music
British Journal of Music Education
Range of subjects covers music teaching and learning in formal and informal contexts including classroom, individual, group and whole class instrumental and vocal teaching, music in higher education, international comparative music education, music in community settings, and teacher education.
The journal focuses on research, and provides an international forum for cross-cultural investigations and discussions relating to all areas of music education.
Philosophy
Provides articles and reviews books stressing considerations about philosophy and particular schools, methods, or fields of philosophy.
Devoted to the practical and theoretical discussion of teaching and learning philosophy. It publishes articles and case studies on theoretical issues, classroom strategies, experimental courses, student counseling, and teaching and learning assessment.
Anthropology
Anthropology & Education Quarterly
Publishes anthropological research in education, as well as discussions of educational development and the teaching of anthropology.
Teaching Anthropology is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute dedicated to the development of pedagogical theory and educational practice in Anthropology across schools, colleges, and higher education settings.
Economics
Features original articles on innovations in and evaluations of teaching techniques, materials and programs in economics. Articles, tailored to the needs of instructors of introductory through graduate-level economics, cover content and pedagogy in a variety of mediums.
International Review of Economics Education
An international peer-reviewed journal that promotes research into effective learning and teaching in economics in higher education
Political Science
Journal of Political Science Education
Covers topics regarding pedagogical scholarship and the scholarship of teaching and learning; discussion of assessment issues; and reviews of both textbooks and relevant teaching technologies of use to political scientists.
PS: Political Science & Politics
Includes articles of contemporary political analysis, and features news of the profession and its members.
Psychology, Neuroscience and Behaviour
British Journal of Educational Psychology
Focuses on psychological research that makes a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of education. Includes empirical and theoretical studies, action research as well as psychometric and statistical methods.
Covers study of foundational issues concerning the mental, socio-cultural, and mediational processes and conditions of learning and intellectual competence.
Provides detailed explorations of new educational concepts and accepted educational practices.
Journal of Educational Psychology
Features articles that deal with learning and cognition, psychological development, relationships, and adjustment of the individual, especially relevant to the problems of instruction.
Journal of Instructional Psychology
A quarterly journal publishing original articles about issues in instruction and educational management. Particularly focuses on bilingual and multicultural issues, at-risk youth, and educational technology.
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Psychology
Features reviews of current research and contemporary theories as well as empirical research designed to foster systematic intentional changes to improve teaching and learning outcomes.
Provides information to improving the learning-teaching process at all educational levels: from secondary through college and graduate school, to continuing education.
Social Work
Journal of Social Work Education
Contains research articles on education in the fields of social work knowledge and social welfare, focusing on developments, innovations, and problems pertaining to social work education at the undergraduate, master's, and postgraduate levels.
Journal of Teaching in Social Work
Addresses qualitative, as well as quantitative studies, philosophical and historical insights; focuses on the educational process in social work.
Publishes articles of a critical and reflective nature concerned with the theory and practice of social care and social work education at all levels.
Sociology
British Journal of Sociology of Education
Publishes academic articles from throughout the world which contribute to both theory and empirical research in the sociology of education.
Publishes articles, notes, and reviews intended to be helpful to the discipline’s teachers. Articles range from experimental studies of teaching and learning to broad, synthetic essays on pedagogically important issues.
Business
e-Journal of Business Education and Scholarship Teaching
Covers the development of teaching and research in business education internationally. Provides a forum for the expression of ideas, opinions and research informing the scholarship of teaching.
American Journal of Business Education
Publishes papers that significantly contribute to the understanding of the science and practice of business pedagogy. The AJBE embraces its mission of advancing the art and science of teaching as well as publishing articles related to the advancement of the business curriculum
Journal of Education for Business
The journal primarily features basic and applied research-based articles in entrepreneurship, accounting, communications, economics, finance, information systems, management, marketing, and other business disciplines.
Management
International Journal of Management Education
Provides a forum for scholarly reporting and discussion of developments in all aspects of teaching and learning in business and management. The Journal seeks reflective papers which bring together pedagogy and theories of management learning.
Journal of Management Education
Provides an international forum for the analysis and improvement of teaching and training business students and managers.
Interdisciplinary
Impact: Journal of Interdisciplinary Teaching & Learning
Peer-reviewed, biannual online journal that publishes scholarly and creative non-fiction essays about the theory, practice, and assessment of interdisciplinary education
Issues in Interdisciplinary Studies
An international, peer-reviewed publication of the Association for Interdisciplinary Studies, dedicated to advancing the theory and practice of the many varieties of interdisciplinarity in the academy and in society at large.
We aim to publish work that explores the multiple theoretical paradigms, diverse approaches, and potential intersections between writing across the curriculum and topics of feminism, technology, and inclusion
Across the Disciplines: Language and Learning Across the Disciplines
The journal embraces a broad commitment to cross-disciplinary emphases in writing studies and invites relevant submissions from individuals in all fields of inquiry
Journal for Learning Through the Arts
Journal focused on disseminating current theory, research, practice, and thinking on arts integration in schools and communities.
Journal for STEM Education Research
An interdisciplinary journal in subject content education focusing on research in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) education.
oSoTL
A new open journal on the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning has been released. It is called "Open Scholarship of Teaching and Learning": oSoTL is an open access and open peer review journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. The ethos of the journal is collegiality and open scholarship, with the aim to make submissions as accessible as possible.