It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books@OvidDatabase contains full text access to selected biomedical and nursing books.
Scholars Portal BooksFull-text for over 160,000 e-books from commercial publishers, including titles from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, and the Gibson Canadian publishers collection. Also includes approximately 400,000 e-books that are open access or public domain titles.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryMore than 200 encyclopedias, almanacs and selected industry-standard reference series from Thomson Gale and its imprints are now available.
Why Use Books?
Books are a great resource to use when searching for general information on a topic. They are useful for understanding a topic in its context and provide summaries of existing research as well as offer a historical perspective.
Books are best found using the Search feature in our Library Catalogue.
A Library Catalogue...
is an index to the contents of a library or group of libraries
allows you to locate material by author, title, subject, etc.
can include: books; journal, magazine & newspaper titles (not articles); government publications; archives; maps; databases; games; videos; other materials
gives details (e.g., publisher, date of publication, etc.) required for bibliographies and endnotes
may give the location, call number and status (e.g., checked out) of an item
that is available online may be called an OPAC (Online Public Access Catalogue)
that combines the contents of several library catalogues may be called a union catalogue
can typically be searched by anyone, anywhere in the world, with no restrictions