COMMERCE 4AF3 - Accounting Theory

• Omni
  Search Omni to find books and other materials on accounting frauds and scandals.

Below is a selected list of general titles on this topic, but you can also search Omni for specific companies that have engaged in misconduct (e.g., Adelphia, Enron, HealthSouth, Lehman Brothers, Nortel Networks, Parmalat, Tyco, WorldCom, etc.) to find additional information.

• Factiva, 1970s to the present, dates vary by publication 
  NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later. 
  Contains over 2,000 full-text newspapers from 200 countries in 26 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to publications in Canada or other geographical locations. 
   
• Newspapers Search in Omni
  Search across 1 billion newspaper articles from hundreds of newspapers from around the world. The search is open to everyone, but accessing full-text will require your MacID@mcmaster.ca. If you see No Online Access in the brief record, click the link to see the full-text options in the View Online section of the full record. NOTE: Many of the articles in Newspapers Search in Omni are being pulled from the news databases listed on this guide (e.g., Factiva, Nexis Uni, ProQuest News & Newspapers), so full-text is typically available. 
   
• Nexis Uni, 1970s to the present, dates vary by publication    
  Includes thousands of worldwide news sources including The Financial Times (current month embargoed) and The New York Times.
  To find news from the Nexis Uni home page ...
  • locate the Guided Search task pods
  • choose News in the What are you interested in? box
  • type your keywords or subject terms in the Search in all News for box
  • choose the news timeframe you want to search in from the Choose date range drop-down list
  • click Search
  • in the results list, use the options in the Narrow By column to filter your results by location, publication type, subject, industry, geography, timeline, etc.
     
• Selected newspaper titles with deep historical date coverage available in page image/PDF format. Can include coverage of companies, particularly when involved in corporate fraud or scandal.
  • The Financial Times, 1888 to 2021
  • The Globe and Mail, 1844 to 4 years ago
  • The New York Times, 1851 to 1 month ago
  • Toronto Star, 1894 to 3 months ago
  • The Wall Street Journal, 1889 to within days of the current issue
  • and others

• Business Source Premier - select Business Searching Interface option
  Full text for more than 1,200 scholarly business journals, magazines and other sources. All business topics are covered, including accounting and finance.
   
• Google Scholar  
  Search for multi-disciplinary scholarly content on the web. Adjust the Google Scholar settings to automatically connect to the full-text provided by McMaster libraries. Watch this video to find out how.
   
• Omni
  Search Omni to find journal and magazine articles. Use the Resource Type filter on the left to limit your results to Articles (primarily Journal Articles) and Magazine Articles.
   
• ProQuest One Business
  Include thousands of full-text scholarly journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, newspapers, trade publications, reports and books.All business topics are covered, including accounting and finance.
   
• ScholarsPortal Journals
  Search millions of articles from over 25,000 full text journals covering many academic disciplines, including business, accounting and finance.