ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) Ratings

Bloomberg available on-site only in the DeGroote Trading Centres located in DSB-B106 and RJC-126
Possible search strategy for ESG data:

Enter BI ESG and hit GO (e.g. BI ESG <GO>)
For a company ESG profile, use the command line to enter a ticker, hit the Index key, type ESG, and press <GO> (e.g. AAPL US <Equity> ESG <GO>).
When the company is loaded, you can type the following commands for other useful templates:
- FA ESG Summary Template
- FA ESGE Environmental Template
- FA ESGS Social Template
- FA ESGG Governance Template
Refinitiv ESG data via LSEG Workspace, 2002 to the present
Available on-site in the DeGroote Trading Centres located in DSB-B106 and RJC-126 or remotely with registration via the web or via the DSB Virtual Lab (VPN required) NOTE: First time user? Registration is required for access outside the trading centres. For remote access and instructions, contact your instructor or the DeGroote School of Business at dsbhelp@mcmaster.ca.
- Includes ESG data for active and some delisted companies. Search for a company, view its profile and select the ESG tab.
- Learn more about the meaning and methodology of LSEG ESG company scores at their public website.

Refinitiv ESG data via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services), 2002 to the present
NOTE: To access this data set in WRDS, you must register for a personal or individual WRDS account or WRDS day pass [more details in the Notes of this record].
- Once registered, connect to WRDS > on the default Home page scroll through our Subscriptions and select Thomson/Refinitiv > on the resulting page gol to the Refinitiv ESG heading and select V2 Refinitiv ESG scores > fill in the query form and submit
- This data set contains ESG (environmental, social and governance) data and scores for 10,000 global companies with data since 2002.
- Measures a company’s relative ESG performance, commitment and effectiveness across 10 main categories
- E - emission, innovation, and resource use
- S - community, human rights, product responsibility, and workforce
- G - CSR strategy, management, and shareholders
- Includes 450+ ESG data points and 70+ ESG analytics
- ESG scores are based on publicly-reported data
- Learn more about the meaning and methodology of LSEG ESG company scores at their public website. You can also search for the most recent ESG company scores at the public website.
MSCI ESG KLD STATS via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services),1991 to 2019.
NOTE: To access this data set in WRDS, you must register for a personal or individual WRDS account or WRDS day pass [more details in the Notes of this record].,
- Once registered, connect to WRDS > on the default Home page scroll through our Subscriptions and select MSCI (formerly KLD and GMI) > go to the MSCI ESG KLD STATS heading and select Social Ratings (Full) > fill in the query form and submit
- A data set of positive and negative environmental, social, and governance (ESG) performance indicators applied to a universe of publicly traded companies. Initiated in 1991, this data set is one of the longest continuous ESG data time series available.
- MSCI KLD ESG performance indicators are scored using a simple binary scoring model:
  - If a company meets the assessment criteria established for an indicator, then this is signified with a “1”.
  - If a company does NOT meet the assessment criteria established for an indicator, then this is signified with a “0”.
  - If a company has NOT been researched for a particular ESG indicator, then this is signified with a “NR” (Not Researched)
  - This document goes into more detail about the methodology used for scoring.
ESG Industry Rating Report via Mergent Online, current
- includes ESG ratings and scores of selected leading companies within an industry
- once connected to Mergent Online, click the Industry analysis tab > then REPORTS > then ESG from the menu near the top > select an industry from the list and click Download.
- FTSE Russell's ESG reports measure an industry's exposure to ESG issues through charts and tables. Includes ICB industry and subsector average ESG ratings and Pillar scores, industry comparison charts, ESG rating dispersion charts and top 10 industry/subsector company data.
Sustainalytics (Morningstar), current
NOTE: The Library is not a subscriber, but some limited, current ESG data is available for some companies. Also includes videos and documents on ESG risk ratings and how they work.
Violation Tracker UK, 2010 to the present
A tool for researching corporate regulatory infringements in the United Kingdom. "A wide-ranging database of enforcement actions brought against companies by government regulators in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It contains more than 90,000 cases involving issues such as financial misconduct, workplace abuses, environmental offences
Violation Tracker US, 2000 to the present
Discover which corporations are the biggest regulatory violators and lawbreakers throughout the United States. "A wide-ranging database on corporate misconduct. It covers banking, consumer protection, false claims, environmental, wage & hour, safety, discrimination, price-fixing, and other cases resolved by federal regulatory agencies and all parts of the U.S. Justice Department since 2000"

No ESG scores for you company? You may have to deduce ESG related information from articles and company documents.
Possible search string: (ESG OR environment* OR social OR governance OR CSR OR sustainability) AND your company name