McMaster LibGuides: How Do I Cite?: Major Styles by Discipline

Business Citation & Style Guides

Citation Guide for Business (McMaster University Library)
This guide was developed for McMaster University's DeGroote School of Business. It is based on the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition, 2017).
APA 7th ed. Citation for Business Sources (Google Docs)
Source: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
This guide is based on the latest edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA Style, 7th edition, 2020).

Humanities & Social Sciences Citation & Style Guides

AAA Style Guide (American Anthropological Association)
Useful for Anthropology
APA Style Guide, 7th Edition (McMaster University Library) (American Psychological Association)
Brief guide based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA Style, 7th edition, 2020). If the type of entry you want to cite is not included, please consult the manual (various editions). See also:
- How to Write APA Citations (infographics & videos for 6th and 7th eds.) (McMaster University Library)
- APA Style (7th Edition) (Purdue OWL)
- APA Style (7th Edition): Instructional Aids (APA; includes tutorials, guides and sample papers)
- APA Style (7th Edition): Style and Grammar Guidelines (APA; includes paper format, in-text citations, mechanics of style, references, grammar)
- APA Style 7th Edition Quick Guide (Memorial University Libraries)
ASA Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Follows the author-date system of citation in the Chicago Manual of Style, which includes a brief text citation (enclosed in parentheses) and a complete list of references cited (included at the end of an article, before any appendices). If you can't find an example of a format in the ASA guide, consult the Chicago Manual. See also:
- short online guide: ASA Style (Purdue OWL)
- complete guide: MILLS Library HM 569 .A54
Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMOS), 17th and 16th Editions (University of Chicago Press)
Official guide that provides guidance on citing sources, reference formats, grammar and usage, and manuscript production. The Library has multiple copies of the complete print guide (previous editions). See also:
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, 17th Edition (University of Chicago Press)
- Chicago Manual of Style Formatting and Style Guide, 17th Edition (Purdue OWL)
- Chicago Style 17th Edition Quick Guides (Memorial University Libraries)
- Citation Guide for Business (based on Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition) (McMaster University Library)
Citing Music Sources in your Essay and Bibliography (Western University of Ontario)
Useful for: citing music sources.

MLA Style Guide (guide, infographic & video) (McMaster University Library) (Modern Language Association)
Brief guide based on the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook (2021). If the type of entry you want to cite is not included, please consult the handbook (various editions). See also:
- MLA Style, 9th Edition (Purdue OWL)
- MLA Style 9th Edition Quick Guide (Memorial University Libraries)
- MLA Style Guide, 8th Edition (McMaster University Library)
- MLA Citations, 8th Edition (video) (McMaster University Library)
Turabian (Chicago) Style Guide, 7th Edition (McMaster University Library)
A brief guide based on the 7th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations (2007). If the type of entry you want to cite is not included, please consult the manual (various editions). See also:
- Turabian Style 9th Edition Quick Guides (Memorial University Libraries)

Science & Technology Citation & Style Guides

ACS Style Quick Guide (American Chemical Society)
Useful for: Chemistry, Science & Technology. This site provides only sample references for books, journal articles, theses, patents, etc.

AIP Style Manual (American Institute of Physics)
Useful for: Physics, Science & Technology

Chemical Information Sources
Useful for: Chemistry, Science & Technology

CSE (Council of Science Editors) Style Guide (University of Calgary)
Useful for: many disciplines in the natural sciences, including biology, geology, chemistry, mathematics, and physics. Based on Scientific Style and Format: the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 8th ed., 2014, by the Council of Science Editors. If the type of entry you want to cite is not included, please consult the manual (various editions). See also:
- CSE Name-Year Citation Style Guide (McGill)
- CSE Documentation (The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison)
IEEE Reference Guide (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
Useful for: engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computer science and information technology. See also:
- How to Cite References: IEEE Documentation Style (IEEE DataPort)
- Video: IEEE Style from "Citation" in Engineering and Information: Research Skills for Engineers (McMaster University, Engineering)
- IEEE Style Guide (University of Calgary)
- IEEE Style (OWL at Pudue)
- IEEE Citing and Referencing (Monash University Library)

General & Multidisciplinary Citation & Style Guides

Citing Maps & Atlases (McMaster University Library)
Useful for: citing maps & atlases in any discipline.

Harvard Style (Anglia Ruskin University)
Has been adapted to suit many different publication styles covering print and electronic sources and includes how to cite U.K. and E.U. official documents. See also:
- Harvard Referencing (University of Sheffield)

Citing Government Publications (McMaster University Library)
Useful for: citing government publications in any discipline.

Citing Unpublished Sources (McMaster University Library)
Useful for: citing unpublished sources in any discipline.

McMaster's Guide for the Preparation of Master's and Doctoral Thesis (McMaster University, School of Graduate Studies)
Includes formatting guidelines, referencing info, etc.

Referen©ite: Academic Referencing Resource (University of Auckland)
Contains links to tools, tutorials, and guides that help with referencing sources correctly.