Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Find PESTEL Resources?

Sources for conducting PESTEL analysis

Legal & Regulatory

There are certain laws that affect the business environment in certain countries. Additionally, there are internal policies that companies set and maintain for themselves. These factors include compliance issues such as consumer, labour, minimum wage, health and safety, and anti-trust laws and regulations.


open accessCanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)  
Centralizes links for federal and provincial legislation. 
 

open accessConsolidated Acts and Regulations of Canada (Justice Laws)
Contains federal acts and regulations for Canada.
 

open accessHouse of Commons Debates (Hansard)  
Search for keywords or browse a list of topics (e.g., names of acts) to find legal and regulatory information/discussion in the federal Parliament pertinent to your industry.
 

McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld
Contains U.S., Canadian, Ontario and global industry reports, most at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level. The chapter worth noting for this section is Operating Conditions, subsection Regulation & Policy.
 

Best Bet!open accessIndustry Sources   
Visit the sites and databases noted in the industry section of this guide for legal and regulatory information. Also check with your trade association website or contact.
 

Industry or Trade Associations​

  • Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyAssociations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre
  • Use this directory to identify Canadian associations relevant to your industry. Association web sites can provide free content such as magazines, newsletters, statistics & industry trends. Especially useful for current legal and regulatory issues affecting an industry.
    Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88   
  • ​Best Bet!open accessInformation by Industry Sector (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
    If your industry is covered, explore the links that are related to legislation such as regulations and standards.
     

McMaster Users OnlyNewspaper, Magazine and Journal Databases   
Search the article databases listed in this section of the guide. Type in your industry terms (e.g., retail) along with the following search words (regulatory or regulations or regulation or law or laws or legislation or act or acts or statute or statutes or bill or bills) to find articles relevant to this environment.
 

McMaster Users OnlyNexisUni
Provides access to legislation and case law, primarily American.
 

open accessPrimary Sources of Law - Canadian Legislation (Legal Research Tutorial - University of Toronto - Bora Laskin Law Library)
Lists the different jurisdictions and provides links to the federal/provincial legislative bodies.
 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyViewsWire  
Select Canada from the Geographies menu. Click on Tax Regulations from the In Depth menu.

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email