McMaster LibGuides: How Do I Find Industry Reports?: Industry Report Sources

Industry Reports

An Industry Report ...

An industry report ...

typically provides an overview of an industry, market or sector in a particular geographic area
usually includes definitions, key trends & outlook, leading companies, competitive landscape, industry data (size, value, sales, ratios), key economic indicators and other related topics
often written by analysts or experts in the field

Industry Report Sources

Industry Report Sources
Geographic Coverage	Title	Date Coverage	Search Tips
Global	Encyclopedia of Global Industries Location: STORAGE HD 2324 .E53	2003 & 2007	Use table of contents & index. - 2003 Table of Contents - 2007 Table of Contents
Global	IBISWorld Includes reports by IBISWorld.	Current	Search by keyword(s) or select Industries menu > Global to browse Global Industries by Sector > Global Industry Reports. Alternatively, select Products menu > Global > Industry Reports to browse reports by sector.
Global, Multi-Country	Business Source Premier Includes reports by MarketLine, Barnes Reports, Taiwan Institute of Economic Research, Business Monitor International (BMI), IHS Global and others. NOTE: MarketLine reports often include a Porter's five forces analysis of an industry.	1990s-current	Search by keyword(s), industry code (NAICS) or select Industry Profiles (and/or Market Research Reports) on the Advanced Search screen to browse reports by title, industry, country, region, or publisher.
Global, Multi-Country	EIU Viewpoint Includes industry analysis and insights from The Economist Intelligence Unit.	2012 to current	Search for keywords or browse the Industries tab which covers six major industries (Automotive, Consumer Goods, Energy, Financial Services, Healthcare, Telecommunications) in over 200 countries.
Global, Multi-Country	Factiva Includes full-text reports by The Business Research Company (2019 to current), DelveInsight (2022 to current), Insight Partners Research (2023 to current), Mergent (2004-2019) and TechNavio (2013-2017). Reports from other publishers may also be noted, but unavailable in full-text.	1990s-current	Search for specific industry sources by title and/or keyword(s) or go to the Companies/Markets menu and select Industry to browse a list of industries.
Global, Multi-Country	Fitch Solutions / BMI Several databases include reports from Fitch Solutions and/or BMI (Business Monitor International) .	2007-current	Search by keyword(s) or browse reports by subject, location, title, and more.
Global, Multi-Country	Gartner for Technical Professionals (GTP) NOTE: GTP is a UTS (University Technology Services) subscription	1990s-current	Search or browse for a wide range of I.T. (information technology) related reports. In the Research section, filter results by vendor, content type (e.g., market analysis), analyst, industry, region, date and more.
Global, Multi-Country	International Agri-Food Market Intelligence Includes reports by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.	Current	Browse categories or search for reports that cover cover global agriculture and food opportunities, market trends and forecasts, Canada’s free trade agreements.
Global, Multi-Country	Investext via Mergent Online Includes reports by hundreds of investment banks, brokers and independent research firms such as Barclays, CIBC World Markets, DeutscheBank, HSBC, JPMorgan, MarketLine, Morgan Stanley, Morningstar, RBC Capital Markets, and UBS Research.	1980s-current	In Mergent Online, select the Investext tab. Search by keywords, industry, subject and more.
Global, Multi-Country	Mergent Industry Reports via Mergent Online Includes reports from Mergent by FTSE Russell.	2003- 2020	In Mergent Online, select Industry Analysis tab then Historical Industry Reports. Search by company, date range, industry and/or region (North America, Europe, Asia Pacific and Latin America). Individual countries are often covered separately in the regional reports (e.g., Canada, France, China, Mexico).
Global, Multi-Country	Passport Includes reports by Euromonitor.	Current	Search by keyword(s) or browse the Industries menu.
Global, Multi-Country	ProQuest One Business Includes reports by Acquisdata, Barnes Reports, EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit), Fitch Solutions/BMI, J.P. Morgan, Oxford Economics, Plunkett Research, and others.	2000s-current	On the *Advanced Search, enter keyword(s) and limit results to Reports* from the Source type filter. On the Browse screen, select Industries and explore Industry Overviews or Industry Reports by name, country and/or report providers/publishers
Global, Multi-Country	Statista Includes reports by Statista and industry related statistics from a wide variety of sources.	1990s-current	Search by keyword(s) or browse the options in the Statistics and Reports drop-down menus in the main toolbar.
Canada	Conference Board of Canada inFact (formerly e-Library) Includes reports by Conference Board of Canada.	2000s-current	Search by keyword(s) or go to the Publications menu and select By Topic, then Industry Sector Economics to browse a list of reports on various industries.
Canada with some Global	DBRS Morningstar Includes reports by the Dominion Bond Rating Service.	1995-current	Search by keyword(s) or go to the Market Sectors menu, select a sector and limit to Industry Study to browse reports.
Canada and Provinces + Territories	IBISWorld Includes reports by IBISWorld	Current	Search by keyword(s) and industry code (NAICS) or select Industries menu > Canada to browse Canada Industries by Sector > Canada Industry Reports (NAICS). To browse national or provincial/territorial industry reports by sector, select Products menu > Canada > Industry Reports (NAICS) or Provincial Industry Reports.
Canada	Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) Includes reports from ISED and other Canadian government agencies.	Current	Browse by industry categories.
United States	Encyclopedia of Products and Industries - Manufacturing	2008	Use table of contents and index.
United States	Hoover's Industry Snapshots - via Nexis Uni Includes reports by Hoover's Inc.	Current	In Nexis Uni, go to the Menu drop-down list (top of page) and select All Sources. Search for hoover's industry snapshots in the Search Within Sources box. Locate the title in the results and Add the source as a search filter. Search by keyword(s).
United States	IBISWorld Includes reports by IBISWorld.	Current	Search by keyword(s) and industry code (NAICS) or select Industries menu > United States to browse US Industries by Sector > US Industry Reports (NAICS). To browse more US industry reports by sector, select Products menu > United States > Industry Reports (NAICS) or Specialized Industry Reports or Spotlight Reports.
United States	ICB Reports via Mergent Online Includes reports by Mergent FTSE Russell	Current	In Mergent Online, select the Industry Analysis tab. ICB (Industry Classification Benchmarks) reports display characteristics of a given industry or supersector based on Russell 1000 Index membership.
United States with some Global	MarketResearch.com Academic Includes reports by Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, SBI Energy and Simba Information.	1994-current	Search by keyword(s) or browse for reports by topics/categories.
United States	Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys Location: MILLS 3rd floor HG 4915 .S65	2001-2010	Use table of contents
United States	Value Line Investment Survey Industry overviews and reports by Value Line Inc.	1997-current	For Overviews: Go to the Markets menu and select Industries to browse a list of industry overviews. For Reports: Select the Browse Research menu, go to Industry Screens and select an industry from the drop-down menu.

How Do I Find Industry Reports?

Business Librarian

RJC Research Services Librarian

Icon Descriptions

Industry Reports

An Industry Report ...

Industry Report Sources

Industry Report Sources