Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Find Industry Reports?

Guide to worldwide industry report sources.

Industry Reports

An Industry Report ...

An industry report ...

  • typically provides an overview of an industry, market or sector in a particular geographic area 
  • usually includes definitions, key trends & outlook, leading companies, competitive landscape, industry data (size, value, sales, ratios), key economic indicators and other related topics
  • often written by analysts or experts in the field

Industry Report Sources

Industry Report Sources

Geographic Coverage Title Date Coverage Search Tips
Global Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Location: STORAGE HD 2324 .E53
2003 & 2007 Use table of contents & index.
2003 Table of Contents
2007 Table of Contents
Global McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld
Includes reports by IBISWorld.
Current Search by keyword(s) or select Global Industry Reports and browse reports be sector.  screenshot IBISWorld global industry reports
Global,
Multi-Country
McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Source Premier
Includes reports by MarketLine, Barnes Reports, Taiwan Institute of Economic Research, Business Monitor International (BMI), IHS Global and others. NOTE: MarketLine reports often include a Porter's five forces analysis of an industry.
1990s-current    Search by keyword(s), industry code (NAICS) or select Industry Profiles (and/or Market Research Reports) on the Advanced Search screen to browse reports by title, industry, country, region, or publisher. screenshot Business Source Premier search industry reports
screenshot Business Source Premier browse industry reports
Global, 
Multi-Country
McMaster Users OnlyFactiva
Includes full-text reports by Mergent (2004-2019) and Technavio (2013-2017). Reports from other publishers may be noted, but unavailable in full-text.
1990s-current Search for specific industry sources by title and/or keyword(s) or go to the Companies/Markets menu and select Industry to browse a list of industries. screenshot Factiva search industry reports
screenshot Factiva browse industry reports
Global, 
Multi-Country
 
McMaster Users OnlyFitch Solutions / BMI
Several databases include reports from Fitch Solutions and/or BMI (Business Monitor International) .
2007-current Search by keyword(s) or browse reports by subject, location, title, and more.  
Global, 
Multi-Country
McMaster Users OnlyGartner for Technical Professionals (GTP)
NOTE: GTP is a UTS (University Technology Services) subscription
1990s-current Search or browse for a wide range of I.T. (information technology) related reports. In the Research section, filter results by vendor, content type (e.g., market analysis), analyst, industry, region, date and more.    
Global, 
Multi-Country
McMaster Users OnlyInvestext via Mergent Online
Includes reports by hundreds of investment banks, brokers and independent research firms such as Barclays, CIBC World Markets, DeutscheBank, HSBC, JPMorgan, Morgan Stanley, Morningstar, RBC Capital Markets, and UBS Research. 
1980s-current Select the Investext tab in Mergent Online. Search by keywords,  industry, subject and more.  
Global, 
Multi-Country
Mergent Industry Reports via Mergent Online
Includes reports from Mergent by FTSE Russell.
2003- current Select the Industry Analysis tab in Mergent Online. Search by company, date range, industry and/or region (North America, Europe, Asia Pacific and Latin America). Individual countries are often covered separately in the regional reports (e.g., Canada, France, China, Mexico). screenshot Mergent Industry Reports in Mergent Online
Global, 
Multi-Country
McMaster Users OnlyPassport
Includes reports by Euromonitor.
Current Search by keyword(s) or browse the Industries menu.

screenshot Passport search industry reportscreenshot Passport browse industry reports

Global, 
Multi-Country
McMaster Users OnlyProQuest One Business (formerly Business Premium Collection)
Includes reports by Acquisdata, Barnes Reports, EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit), Fitch Solutions/BMI, J.P. Morgan, Oxford Economics, Plunkett Research and others. 
2000s-current On the Advanced Search, enter keyword(s) and limit results to Reports from the Source type filter.
On the Browse screen, select Industry Reports and find reports by industry name, country and/or publisher (Report provided by:).
screenshots of searching and browsing for industry reports in ProQuest One Business
 
Global, 
Multi-Country
McMaster Users OnlyStatista
Includes reports by Statista and industry related statistics from a wide variety of sources. 
1990s-current Search by keyword(s) or browse the options in the Statistics and Reports drop-down menus in the main toolbar.   
Canada McMaster Users OnlyConference Board of Canada e-Library
Includes reports by Conference Board of Canada.
2000s-current Search by keyword(s) or go to the Browse by ... menu and select Topic, then Industry Sector Economics to view a list of reports on various industries. screenshot Conference Board of Canada search industry reports
screenshot Conference Board of Canada browse industry reports
Canada with some Global McMaster Users OnlyDBRS Morningstar
Includes reports by the Dominion Bond Rating Service.
1995-current Search by keyword(s) or go to the Market Sectors menu, select a sector and limit to Industry Study to browse reports. screenshot DBRS Morningstar search industry reports
screenshot DBRS Morningstar browse industry reports
Canada
and Ontario
McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld
Includes reports by IBISWorld.
Current Search by keyword(s) and industry code (NAICS) or select Canada Industry Reports (NAICS) or Canada Industry Provincial Reports to browse reports by sector.  screenshot IBISWorld Canadian industry reports
Canada open accessInnovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)
Includes reports from ISED and other Canadian government agencies.
Current Browse by industry categories.   screenshot Industry Canada industry reports
United States McMaster Users OnlyEncyclopedia of Products and Industries - Manufacturing 2008 Use table of contents and index.
United States McMaster Users OnlyHoover's Industry Snapshots - via Nexis Uni
Includes reports by Hoover's Inc.
Current In Nexis Uni, go to the Menu drop-down list (top of page) and select All Sources. Search for hoover's industry snapshots in the Search Within Sources box. Locate the title in the results and Add the source as a search filter.  Search by keyword(s).  screenshot Hoover's industry reports via Nexis Uni
United States McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld
Includes reports by IBISWorld.
Current Search by keyword(s) and industry code (NAICS) or select US Industry Reports (NAICS) or US Specialized Industry Reports to browse reports by sector.  screenshot IBISWorld U.S. industry reports
United States with some  Global McMaster Users OnlyMarketResearch.com Academic
Includes reports by Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, SBI Energy and Simba Information.
1994-current Search by keyword(s) or browse for reports by topics/categories. screenshot MarketResearch.com Academic industry reports
United States Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Location: MILLS 3rd floor HG 4915 .S65 
2001-2010 Use table of contents
United States McMaster Users OnlyValue Line Investment Survey
Industry overviews and reports by Value Line Inc.
Current For Overviews: Go to the Markets menu and select Industries to browse a list of industry overviews.
For Reports: Select the Browse Research menu, go to Industry Screens and select an industry from the drop-down menu.
screenshot Value Line industry overviews
screenshot Value Line industry reports
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email