Business Librarian
McMaster University Library
1280 Main Street West, Hamilton, ON, L8S-4L6, CANADA
RJC Research Services Librarian
- Two popular citation styles for business are Chicago and APA. Guides on how to cite business sources in both of these styles are noted below.
- Not sure which citation style to use for your coursework (e.g., APA, Chicago, MLA, Vancouver, etc.) - ask your instructor.
- For more information about citations and other style guides, visit our How Do I Cite? page.
Citation Guide for Business (Chicago)
Citation Guide for Business (Chicago) (PDF)
McMaster University Library
This Citation Guide for Business was developed for McMaster University's DeGroote School of Business. It is based on the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition, 2017). Includes general formatting and style guidelines for papers, endnotes and bibliographies, along with numerous citation examples of popular business sources.
Citing content developed or generated by artificial intelligence? See the Chicago 17th edition recommendations with examples in this guide. Generative AI examples have also been incorporated into the Citation Guide for Business.
The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineAlternate Title: CMOS
Publication Dates: 2024 and 2017
Editions: 18th and 17th
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Location: Online
Includes the full-text of the official Chicago Manual of Style, along with Citation Quick Guide, Chicago Style Q&A, Video Tutorials and more. For guidance and examples on citing generative AI, visit this library guide which includes recommendations from the last two editions of Chicago. Check the CMOS website for updates.
Citation Guide for Business (APA)
APA 7th ed. Citation for Business Sources (Google Doc)
Source: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
This APA citation guide for business sources was developed by a group of business librarians in the United States and Canada. It is based on the latest edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA Style, 7th edition, 2020). NOTE: This APA guide has not been modified for local use and includes several sources which are unavailable at McMaster. Read this FAQ for more information about the development and contents of this guide.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA StylePublication Date: 2020Edition: 7th
Publisher: American Psychological Association
Locations & Call Numbers:
MILLS Library Reference (3rd floor) BF 76.7 .P83 2020
THODE Library Quick Reference (Lower Level) BF 76.7 .P83 2020
HEALTH SCIENCES Library Reference (Upper Level) WZ 345 .P976 2020
See also:
- APA Style (American Psychological Association)
Includes APA style and grammar guidelines, tutorials and a blog which addresses common questions.
- APA Style (7th Edition) (Purdue OWL)
Includes an overview of APA, along with formatting examples for in-text citations, reference lists, a sample paper, and more.
- How to Cite in APA Format (7th edition) | Guide & Generator (Scribbr)
Includes guidelines for paper format, reporting standards, citation examples for many resource types including press releases, reports (PDF), websites and more.
- How to cite ChatGPT (APA Style blog)
Quoting, in-text citations, and references for content generated with artificial intelligence are covered in this blog post.
- How Do I Cite Generative AI - APA (McMaser University Library)
Includes examples that incorporate the latest recommendations from this APA Style blog post.
- Iida, P., Ruegg, R., de Boer, M., Araki, N., & Agnello, M.F. (2021). The concise APA handbook: APA 7th edition. Information Age Publishing.
This eBook covers plagiarism, evaluating sources for academic work, in-text citation, making your list of references, formatting and more.