Library Catalogues
A Guide to Omni - for more information, check out this guide
Omni is a multi-disciplinary academic search tool that offers enhanced discovery and delivery of information resources at McMaster, our Omni partner institutions, and beyond.
The new catalogue links you to 18 Ontario academic library collections which expands your access to resources, both in print and electronic.
How you search for resources hasn't changed, but knowing and using the new features will impact and hopefully improve your practice.
Once you conduct your search (ie: globalization as a keyword) you can limit the results in a number of ways:
- All collections or just McMaster
- Print or electronic options
- Resource type
- Location (Mills, Thode, Health Sciences, or other Libraries
- Subject
- Date
- Language
- Recently added, and MORE
Bibliotheque Nationale de France http://www.bnf.fr/fr/acc/x.accueil.html
“The Bibliothèque nationale de France collects, preserves and provides access to the documentary national heritage.”
The Union Catalogue of France http://ccfr.bnf.fr/portailccfr/jsp/index.jsp
The Union Catalog of France (Catalogue Collectif de France/CCFr) is one of the most powerful online bibliographic and document research tools in France. The CCFr makes it possible to locate more than 15 million documents available in the French library system.
Check their collections of bibliographies. From the main page – go to Collections and Services – then click on Information Retrieval Aids – then bibliographies.
Gallica - http://gallica.bnf.fr/?&lang=EN
Offers digital texts.
Europeana - http://www.europeana.eu/portal/
The European digital library, provides access to several million digitized documents representative of the European historical and cultural heritage.
SUDOC Catalogue - http://www.sudoc.abes.fr/
A French collective catalogue created by Higher Educational and Research libraries and resource centres. Includes nearly 10 million bibliographic records describing all kinds of documents, their online availability and locations.
See also other National Libraries below.
University of Toronto Libraries
http://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/
AMICUS - National Library of Canada
http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/amicus/index-e.html
BANQ - Bibliotheque et Archives Nationales du Quebec
Key Bibliographies
Bibliographie der Franzosischen Literaturwissenschaft – Otto Klapp
1956 – present
Mills Library, Reference, 2nd floor, ZPQ 35 .K63
- most comprehensive bibliography of French literature limited exclusively to French publications
- includes French authors inside/outside of France ( e.g. French-Canadian)
- lists books, chapters of books, periodical articles, theses
- entries are arranged by general topics; then by century. Within each century, by topic/genre/author. For example, 19th century Baudelaire
- indexes at back:
- Index nominum (Index of names of authors of critical works)
- Index rerum (Index of Subjects)
French XX Bibliography
Mills Library, Reference, 2nd floor, ZPQ 35 .M6
- abbreviations at the front of the book (Ds=dans; Cr=Compte Rendu)
Bibliographie de la litterature Francaise du Seizieme Siecle
Mills Library, Reference, 2nd floor, ZPQ 1121 .C5
McGill University Library: French Language Resources
Below is a resource that you may find useful. You likely won't have access to other library collections, so if there are resources you are interested in, search for them in OMNI.
McGill University Library: French Language Resources