ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global
Notes:
McMaster theses are included in this database, but coverage is limited. Indexing (citations/abstracts) is from 1951 to 2011 and full-text is from 1970-1996. These and additional McMaster theses (indexing/full-text and open access) are included in MacSphere and Omni.
Description:
Coverage: Indexing - 1637 to the present | Full-text - 1743 to the present
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses, including millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
MacSphere is McMaster’s institutional repository. The repository includes over 14,600 theses. The repository also includes journal articles, working papers, audio recordings, conference materials and books.
This database features all theses defended in France since 1985 and available in any format (print, digital, commercially published, etc.). The database also includes the descriptions of over 65,000 ongoing doctoral theses in France.
Search by: “All theses”, “Ongoing thesis” or “Individuals”.
To browse databases most relevant to French Studies:
Select Database Highlights:
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Description:
Coverage: 1926 to the present
Includes over 2 million citations covering literature, language, film, linguistics and folklore. Provides access to scholarly articles in over 4,400 journals; also covers relevant books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings and bibliographies. The database also has an identifiable subset of more than 77,000 records that constitute the JSTOR subfile. This consists of citation records for documents in JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection. The documents date back as far as 1881 and contain direct links to the full-text articles on the JSTOR website.
Description:
Coverage: Does not include the most recent 3-5 years for most titles
JSTOR provides access to a digital archive of journals in the areas of Arts, Business, Economics, and Sciences. JSTOR includes the entire runs of these journals, from the very first issue to the volumes published a few years ago. With a small number of exceptions - the "Current Scholarship" titles - JSTOR is a backfile collection and excludes the most recent issues (as part of the terms of the agreement with the journal publishers).
Description:
Coverage: 1200s to the present
The ARTFL Project is a full-text database consisting of over 2700 French language texts from the 13th to the 20th centuries including texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences. The database includes texts by French women writers, Provençal poetry, Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, French dictionaries from the 17th - 20th centuries, and Bayle's monumental Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th edition, 1740).
Description:
Coverage: 1944 to 2000
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to 1944 of this French language newspaper from France covering leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business.
Other Library subscriptions with full text access to Le Monde:
Description:
Coverage: 1500s to 1800s
A searchable database containing works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century. The Women Writers Project currently contains texts by 40 authors. There are 5.1 million words, 98,000 unique forms in 99 documents.
Persée is a program which was created for the digital publication of scientific journals in the field of the humanities. The entire printed collection of journals is digitized and published online through a portal which offers access to the collections as well as advanced functionalities which facilitate and enhance use of the portal’s resources. The journals are selected by an editorial board, thereby guaranteeing the collection’s scientific coherence.