Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Newspapers

International Newspapers

Factiva, 1980s to the present

  • Search and read plain-text articles from hundreds of national and state newspapers in the United States.
  • Find specific newspapers by using the Source section on the Free-Text Search screen. Try the By Regionand/or By Title A-Z option from the Select Source Category drop-down menu.
  • Select the News Pages tab and select United States from the drop-menu to browse the most recent two weeks of five popular U.S. newspapers.

LexisNexis Academic, 1980s to the present

  • Search and read plain-text articles from hundreds of national and state newspapers in the United States.
  • Find specific newspapers by using the Sources option in the left navigation menu.

New York Times, September 18, 1851 to 3 months ago

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the New York Times.

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2013

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Sunday Times.

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2013

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Times of London.

Times Literary Supplement, 1902-2013

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS).

Wall Street Journal, July 8, 1889 to 3 months ago

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Wall Street Journal.

Washington Post, December 12,1877 to 3 months ago

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Washington Post.
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email