Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Music

Music Databases

Canadian Music Periodical Index 

  • citations from over 600 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines from the late 19th century to the present

Classical Scores Library 

  • currently contains 13,956 scores (292,823 pages) from both in-copyright and public domain editions of music scores
  • major composers, as well as many lesser known composers and works from the Renaissance to the 21st century
  • content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series

Music Index

  • citations to scholarly and popular music articles, as well as numerous reviews for books and sound recordings
  • 1.5 million articles from 875 international music periodicals

Naxos Music Library 

  • online collection of recorded classical, jazz and world music delivered via streaming audio
  • also includes CD covers, track listings, liner notes, composer biographical information, opera synopses and libretti
  • over 37,000 discs and over 540,000 tracks as of November 2009

Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online) 

  • the leading online resource for music research
  • scholarly encyclopedia articles covering  classical, opera, jazz, popular music, etc.
  • composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres
  • contents:
    • Grove Music Online: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, including updates
    • Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed., Colin Larkin, ed.: popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music
    • The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. rev., Michael Kennedy, ed.: 12,500 entries covering musical subjects of all kinds
    • The Oxford Companion to Music, Alison Latham, ed.: a concentrated focus on the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present day

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

  • online collection of recorded sound, including folk, popular, classical and world music, speeches, and oral histories, delivered via streaming audio
  • browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or topic, e.g. American folk traditions, blues, bluegrass and old-time country, American Indian traditions, world traditions (by continent), jazz, classical, spoken word, sound effects.
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email