Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to the William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections

Rare Books Highlights

Book page with illustration, three men in robes

  • The Works of Geoffrey Chaucer. Kelmscott Press: first edition (PR 1850 1896)
  • Leonard Baskin, Hermaika. Eremite Press: first edition (NC 139 .B37 H46 1986)
  • John Parkinson, Paradisi in Sole Paradisus Terrestris: first edition, 1629 (D 2177)
  • Schloss's English Bijou Almanac for 1840 : first edition (AY 751. Z7 1840)
  • The Works of William Shakespeare 6th edition (PR 2753 .K7 1854)
  • Hartmann Schedel, Nuremberg Chronicle : first edition, 1493 (F 41)
  • Boethius, Consolation of Philosophy, c. 1150 (MS108)
  • H.G. Wells, The Time Machine : first edition (PR 5774 .T5 1895)

*Image (above) from the Dialogues, Galileo Galilei, first edition,1632 (C 1919)

How to Request Rare Books and Research Collections

Please complete the Archives and Research Collections Materials Request Form.

You may request any combination of up to 12 items. These may be either archival boxes, books, or any combination thereof. Please note that larger archival boxes (banker's boxes and oversize items) may count as two items. For multi-volume published works, each volume counts as a separate item.

For archives, you must include the archives title and box number(s). For books, include author, title, and call number(s).
Examples:

  • Farley Mowat archives, boxes 7, 9, and 22
  • Virginia Woolf, Mrs. Dalloway, PR 6045 .O72 M7 1925

If you are interested in a research consultation, please email archives@mcmaster.ca for assistance.

We require a minimum of 24 hours’ for all research visits, but strongly recommend you contact us at least a week in advance. Material may be stored offsite or require special care to retrieve or handle and may not be available at shorter notice. Retrievals are done in advance and additional material will not be retrieved during your appointment.

In being granted permission to access archival material, the researcher agrees to the following terms:

  • the said permission does not include permission to publish the contents of the archive or any excerpt therefrom at any time
  • McMaster University Library – unless otherwise explicitly stated in writing – makes no representation that it is the owner of the common law copyright in the items accessed or copied
  • if intending to publish the archive or excerpts therefrom in any form, the researcher is responsible for obtaining permission to publish from the owner of the copyright.

Using McMaster Library Catalogue to Find for Rare Books and Research Collections

Image shows advanced search bar of McMaster Library

McMaster Library webpage displaying the catalogue record for Dialog di Galileo

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email