Where to find Digital Archives and Rare Books at the William Ready Division
A growing number of items in our archives and rare book collection are now available online! Follow the links in the box below to discover our digital collections.
For non-McMaster users: While much of our collection databases are available to the public, there are several databases which require a McMaster ID login.
Don't know where to start?
For a consultation appointment, please contact us by emailing archives@mcmaster.ca.
Digital Archival Resources @ Mac
General Archives Material
- Digital Archive - The majority of our out of copyright and publicly available content is stored here.
- Databases:
- Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets (1805-1929)
- World Communism: Pamphlets (1901-1969)
- First World War: Personal Experiences; Propaganda and Recruitment
- Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons (1936-1945)
- Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection (1939-1944)
- Patriotes aux Armes! (Patriots to Arms!): The Underground Resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy (1939-1945)
- Digital Exhibitions - Explore our content with articles and analyses provided by experts in their fields.
Rare Books
- Digital Archive - Books from pre and post 1800.
- Internet Archive - Books featuring accounts from the First World War.
Bertrand Russell Archives
- Digital Archive - A number of primary source documents from Bertrand Russell's archives. Resource is free and open to the public.
- Digital Exhibitions - Curated collections, primarily of letters, with additional notes and commentary.
- The Brixton Letters - Bertrand Russell's correspondence while imprisoned as a conscientious objector in 1918.
- Dear Bertie: A selection of letters to Bertrand Russell
- The Homes of Bertrand Russell (Bertrand Russell Research Centre)