Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Do Genealogical Research?

Primary Texts

Primary texts may be the literary works themselves (manuscripts, novels, poems, short stories, diaries, etc.) or first-hand accounts of an event or a person's life or work. These include letters, autobiographies, posters, diaries, archival materials, and photographs.

William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections

The William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections is housed on the lower level of Mills Memorial Library. This area keeps rare and special materials that can be used ONLY within the department. Of interest to genealogists are the records of the Anglican Diocese of Niagara. This collection includes baptism, confirmation, marriage and burial records for the Niagara area.

For information about the holdings of Research Collections or hours of opening and service, please contact the archives.

Canadian Baptist Archives

The Canadian Baptist Archives are located in Room 152 of Divinity College. The Archives contain materials from all Baptist churches in Canada which are part of the Canadian Baptist Foundation, with the exception of the Atlantic region. Charges are levied for research completed by the archives staff.

For further information about the archives and hours of opening, please call 905-525-9140, extension 23511 or visit their website.

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email