Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Do Genealogical Research?

Newspapers

The newspaper collection is located in the Periodicals Area on the 3rd floor of Mills. For information about holdings and service, call (905) 525-9140, extension 22077 for the Mills Research Help Desk.

Newspapers are an abundant source of information for genealogists, recording birth, marriage and death announcements, personal and legal notices, as well as detailed accounts of life in the community. The library has a strong collection of early Canadian newspapers as well as an excellent collection of British newspapers from the 17th - 21st century. Selected papers from other countries are also available.

For reasons of space and preservation, newspapers are transferred to microfilm. The microfilm for heavily-used newspapers is housed in the black microfilm cabinets at the east end of the 3rd floor, opposite the compact shelving. These newspapers are in title order. All other newspaper microfilm is housed in the compact shelving units in call number order. Call numbers may be obtained by consulting MORRIS.

The microform reading room is next to the microfilm collection at the east end of the 3rd floor and has a number of microfilm readers. Reader-printers are available in the main area of the floor for making paper copies. An instruction manual is available to assist with the reader-printers.

Newspaper Reference Sources:

If uncertain of the name of newspapers in a particular city, you may find some of the following books of interest.

CANADA

Union list of Canadian newspapers held by Canadian libraries, by the National Library of Canada. Newspaper Section
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .C2N37)

CANADA - British Columbia

Union catalogue of British Columbia newspapers, by Hana Komorous, British Columbia Library Association.
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .C22B84)

CANADA - Manitoba

A historical directory of Manitoba newspapers, 1859 - 1978, by D.M. Loveridge
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZPN 4917 .M32L6)

CANADA - New Brunswick

New Brunswick newspaper directory, 1783 - 1996, by Helen C. Craig
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .C22N53 1996)

CANADA - Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia newspapers: a directory and union list, 1752 - 1988, by Lynn Murphy
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .C22N86 1990

CANADA - Ontario

Inventory of Ontario newspapers, 1793 - 1986, by J. Brian Gilchrist
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .C22O64)

Ontario ethno-cultural newspapers, 1835 - 1972, an annotated checklist, by Duncan McLaren. (MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZPN 4918 .O5M3)

CANADA - Quebec

Mauricie et centre du Québec: liste des journaux et périodiques régionaux, by Philippe Houyoux.
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZPN 4917 .Q4 H6

CANADA - Saskatchewan

Historical directory of Saskatchewan newspapers, 1878 - 1950, by Office of the Saskatchewan Archives, University of Saskatchewan
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .C29M3)

GREAT BRITAIN (and beyond)

Catalogue of the Newspaper Library, Colindale, by British Library, Newspaper Library.
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .A1B7)

UNITED STATES

American newspapers, 1821-1936 : a union list of files available in the United States and Canada by Winifred Gregory Gerould
(MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZAN 1 .U5 A512 1967)

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email