Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Find Business Databases?

Guide to selecting and accessing business databases.

Databases ...

Databases ...

  • are searchable collections of information
  • are often referred to as research databases or library databases, particularly in an academic context 
  • are usually fee-based subscription resources licensed by libraries (and other organizations)
  • are accessible for free (with authorization) to users affiliated with the subscribing institution 
    • current McMaster students, faculty and staff require a valid MacID to access databases on and off-campus
  • are subject to specific conditions of use outlined in license agreements
  • often contain content unavailable on the open web
  • can have a well defined scope
    • covering specific years, various geographies, specific sources, etc.
  • can be subject specific or general
    • finance, business, social sciences, multi-disciplinary
  • can contain one or more source types
    • articles, books, journals, magazines, news, data, financials, reports, videos, maps, images, and more!
  • support precise, systematic searching
    • many searching, filtering, sorting and exporting options
  • contain content curated by humans (not robots)
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email