Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Find Business Databases?

Guide to selecting and accessing business databases.

Choosing & Accessing Databases

Databases should be accessed through the Library's website to ensure that you are properly authenticated and have full access to our subscriptions.

If you already know the name of a database you want to search ...

  • select the Catalogue option or Databases tab, on the Library home page  
  • type the name of the database in the box 
  • submit your search
  • in the results list, click the database title to connect to it

If you’re not sure which database to search ...

  • select the Databases tab, on the Library home page 
  • choose a subject area from the drop-down list
    • ‚Äčthere are approximately 50 subject areas listed which generally correspond with the academic departments and programs at McMaster 
  • in the results list, review the database descriptions to determine which database is right for your research topic
    • database descriptions can include details about date coverage (e.g., current or historical), geographic coverage (e.g., Canadian, U.S., international), source types (e.g., journals, reports, videos,) and other notes
    • overwhelmed? too many databases to pick from? Select the database(s) highlighted in the Best Bets box at the top of the results list - they should get you off to a good start
  • once you’ve found a database you want to search, click the database title to connect to it

 

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email