COMMERCE 3MD3 - Introduction to Contemporary Applied Marketing

• 2021, 2016 and 2011 Census Data for Hamilton (City of Hamilton)
• Ward Profiles (City of Hamilton) 
   
• 2021 Census Profile for Hamilton (City) (Statistcs Canada) - more data to be released throughout 2022​
• 2016 Census Profile for Hamilton (City) (Statistics Canada)
• 2011 Census & National Household Survey (NHS) Profile for Hamilton (City)  (Statistics Canada)
  2006 Census Community Profile for Hamilton (City) (Statistics Canada)
  Contain 2006, 2011, 2016 and 2021 census data highlights for the city of Hamilton.
  
  
• FSA Map of Hamilton - Canada Post
  FSA (Forward Sortation Area) or postal code boundaries in Hamilton.
   
• Canadian Business Database, current
  An online directory including over 2 million businesses in Canada (public & private). Can be searched by company name, type of business (including SIC or NAICS codes), location (e.g., Hamilton, Ancaster, Dundas, etc.), employee size and sales ranges. 
   
• Hamilton City's Local Marketplace 
   Contains approximately 18,000 local business profiles. Search by company, keyword(s), community, address, industry classification code (i.e., NAICS) and more. NOTE: Businesses submit entries to the directory voluntarily. 
   
• Hamilton Community Foundation (HCF)
  HCF is part of a network of over 191 Canadian community foundations who contribute time, leadership and financial support to initiatives that benefit their community most, based on an intimate understanding of local needs and opportunities. Reports include: Vital Signs: Affordable Housing (2023), other archived Vital Signs reports (2015, 2018 and 2021)
   
• Hamilton Spectator 
  Selected full-text articles from the Hamilton Spectator. 

Some Hamilton Spectator articles related to the 2021 Census:

• October 11, 2022: Arabic is the most spoken nonofficial language in Hamilton: census data
• August 24, 2022: Who are we? Census data shows Hamilton is older, richer and just as divided (via Nexis Uni)
• Aug. 24, 2022: How Hamilton, Burlington and other neighbours have changed since the last census (via Factiva or Nexis Uni)
  A look at population, age, income and COVID supports from 2021 census data
• February 14, 2022: Hamilton’s downtown among the densest in Canada, new population data shows

Some Hamilton Spectator articles related to the 2016 Census:

• August 3, 2017: Hamilton’s No. 3 for young adults living with parents: 2016 census
• August 2, 2017: Canada has more same-sex couples, one-person households, census shows
• May 3, 2017: CENSUS: Hamilton greyer than other cities in Canada
• February 8, 2017: Census 2016: Canada’s big cities home to big share of 35 million Canadians
• February 8, 2017: Hamilton’s populace growth behind national average

Some Hamilton Spectator articles related to the 2011 Census:

• This link includes the following three articles related to population in the Hamilton area.
  • February 10, 2012: Immigration - by the numbers
  • February 9, 2012: Hamilton by the numbers; What drove Hamilton's growth
  • February 9, 2012: Population growth slow and steady but still good

• This link includes the following five articles related to age in the Hamilton area.
  • May 31, 2012: Census show dramatic change is coming
  • May 30, 2012: Burlington Neighbourhoods the most youthful
  • May 30, 2012: East Hamilton pocket big draw for older adults
  • May 30, 2012: Canada's wee baby boom
  • May 30, 2012: Going Grey; Latest Census Findings show Hamilton has a higher than average population of seniors - a call to action for health care officials
  • May 29, 2012: CENSUS: Hamilton, you're getting older (thespec.com)

• This following articles are related to marriages and families in the Hamilton area.
  • September 20, 2012: Common-law relationships on rise in Hamilton area (thespec.com)
  • September 19, 2012: Census shows marriage on the decline in Hamilton (CBC)
  • September 19, 2012: Census suggests "Failure-to-launch" phenomenon alive and well in Canada (thespec.com)
  • September 19, 2012: Census may have counted roommates as married gay couples (CBC)
  • September 19, 2012: Census: Alone with friends or with family, Canada's seniors broaden lifestyle options (thestar.com)

Some Hamilton Spectator articles related to the 2006 Census:

• Your Changing Hamilton: 2006 Census Results:
  March 14, 2007: A1 | A11 | A12
• Common Knowledge: How Marketers See You - Special Report in the Hamilton Spectator
  January 16, 2007: The neighbourhood
  January 17, 2007: Contrasting communities
  January 18, 2007: Watch what you swipe
  January 19, 2007: Hamilton's future

• Invest In Hamilton
  Includes info on industries, incentives, data, reports and other economic development information on Hamilton.
   
• Open Data related to the City of Hamilton curated and catalogued by McMaster Libraries (Sherman Centre for Digital Scholarship)
  Categories include Business & Consumer Services, Environment, Immigration & Ethnocultural Diversity, Labour & Income, Population & Demography, and Society & Community.
   
• Open Hamilton
  The City of Hamilton's open data portal covers topics such as business & economy, city services, census & demographics, culture & tourism, environment, health & safety, infrastructure, parking & transportation and parks & recreation. Search or browse for data. 
   
• Plans & Strategies (City of Hamilton)
  Includes City Projects, Environmental Assessments, Master Plans and Strategies that set the direction for Hamilton's future.
   
• ​PRIZM Segmentation Area Profile Hamilton - 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023 extracted from ArcGIS Business Analyst 
  Esri Data Note: "This report identifies neighborhood segments in the area, and describes the socioeconomic quality of the immediate neighborhood. The index is a comparison of the percent of households or Total Population in the area, by PRIZM segment, to the percent of households or Total Population in Canada, by segment. An index of 100 is the Canadian average".
  NOTE: Some PRIZM data is also available to the general public at this website: PRIZM Lifestyle Lookup by Canadian Postal Code.
   
• Social Planning & Research Council of Hamilton  
  This non-profit organization helps community groups and organizations in the Hamilton area. Their publications typically cover poverty, homelessness and issues related to families and children. 
   
• Vernon's Business Sources. Hamilton & Niagara area edition for selected communities
  A directory organized alphabetically by company name or by SIC code. Standard contact information provided.
  Location: MILLS Bookstacks HF 5072.H3V4 [1992-2007].