Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FRENCH 705 - Grodek - Fall 2021

Finding Articles

Thesis and Dissertations

Proquest Dissertation and Theses A&I
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present.

Access via “Catalogue” or “Databases”.

To search for McMaster theses, type McMaster University in the "University/institution” field.

1.  Search for a dissertation on your topic.

2.  Set up an alert for your topic area.

MacSphere - https://macsphere.mcmaster.ca/

MacSphere is McMaster’s institutional repository. The repository includes over 14,600 theses. The repository also includes journal articles, working papers, audio recordings, conference materials and books.

theses.fr - http://www.theses.fr/

This database features all theses defended in France since 1985 and available in any format (print, digital, commercially published, etc.). The database also includes the descriptions of over 65,000 ongoing doctoral theses in France.

Search by: “All theses”, “Ongoing thesis” or “Individuals”.

Useful Databases

MLA (Modern Language Association)

This databases is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Available in print, and online from 1963 onwards.  Updated 9 times per year.

Access via “Catalogue” or “Databases”.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to a digital archive of journals in the areas of Arts, Business, Economics, and Sciences. JSTOR includes the entire runs of these journals, from the very first issue to the volumes published a few years ago.

Access via “Catalogue” or “Databases”. 

PROJECT MUSE

A collection of over 670 full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. 

Access via “Catalogue” or “Databases”. 

PERSEE - http://www.persee.fr/web/guest/home

Persée is a program which was created for the digital publication of scientific journals in the field of the humanities. The entire printed collection of journals is digitized and published online through a portal which offers access to the collections as well as advanced functionalities which facilitate and enhance use of the portal’s resources. The journals are selected by an editorial board, thereby guaranteeing the collection’s scientific coherence.

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email