Consumers & Demographics

American Attitudes: Who Thinks What about the Issues that Shape Our Lives
Publication Date: 2015 (8th ed.), 2014 (7th ed.), 2010 (6th ed.), 2005 (4th ed.)
Organized into 9 chapters: Public Arena, Government and Politics, Science and Information, Religion, Work and Money, Family and Friends, Race, Personal Outlook, and Sexual Attitudes and Behavior. Based on the U.S. General Social Survey (GSS).
Location: ONLINE and PRINT
American Generations: Who They Are and How They Live
Publication Date: 2013 (8th ed.), 2010 (7th ed.), 2005 (5th ed.), 2003 (4th ed.)
Compare and contrast the demographics of the six living generations--iGeneration, Millennial, Generation X, Baby Boom, Swing, and World War II. Includes the demographics of each generation and examines their attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. U.S. focus
Locations: ONLINE and PRINT
American Time Use: Who Spends How Long at What
Publication Date: 2010 (2nd ed.), 2007
Presents the demographics of how people of different ages spend their time. U.S. focus.
Locations: ONLINE and PRINT
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand
Publication Date: 2018 (12th ed.), 2012 (9th ed.), 2011 (8th ed.), 2010 (7th ed.), 2009 (6th ed.), 2008 (5th ed.), 2006 (4th ed.), 2005 (3rd ed.), 2001 (2nd ed.)
Identifies who the best customers are for selected products and services. U.S. focus.
Locations: ONLINE and PRINT

Annual Demographic Estimates: Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2005-current (Statistics Canada)
Presents annual estimates of population for Canada, provinces and territories as well as estimates of the following components of population change: births, deaths, immigration, emigration, returning emigration, net temporary emigration, net non-permanent residents and inter-provincial migration, the latter by origin and destination.
ArcGIS Business Analyst
Uses web-based GIS mapping technology to visualize demographic, lifestyle, behavioural, psychographic (e.g., PRIZM) spending and other data for Canada and other countries. Community level data is available.

Canadian Census Analyser (1961 to 2021)
Current and historic census data at many levels of geography, including census tracts, FSA (Forward Sortation Areas), CMA (Census Metropolitan Areas), Provinces & Territories and more. You can customize your output by selecting from data categories. Output formats include html, text, spreadsheet, SAS and SPSS.

Not sure of your FSA (Forward Sortation Area)? Find FSA Maps fromCanada Post's Precision Targeter. Contains maps of postal code boundaries in Canada.

On the Target by delivery route window, select a date range and click Continue.
Pick a location from the Sites and Routes column.
Click on the Map icon to see the FSA map for that area.

Canada Census of Population 2021 (Statistics Canada)
Data from the 2021 Canadian Census will be released throughout 2022. View the 2021 Census dissemination plan for release dates (by theme and by topic) and other info.
- 2021 Census Profiles - retrieves population info by place name, postal code, or geographic code
- Census Profile, 2021 Census of Population Download files, all geographies, download in CSV, TAB or IVT formats.
Canada Census of Population 2016 (Statistics Canada)
Includes data on population and dwelling counts, age and sex, type of dwelling, agriculture, families, households and marital status, language, income, immigration and ethnocultural diversity, housing and aboriginal peoples
- 2016 Census Profiles - retrieves the above variables by place name, postal code, or geographic code
Canada Census of Population 2011 and Canada National Household Survey (NHS) 2011 (Statistics Canada)
Census includes data on population and dwelling counts, age and sex, families, households and marital status, structural type of dwelling and collectives, language. NHS includes data on immigration & ethnocultural diversity; aboriginal peoples; education & labour; mobility & migration; language of work; income & housing.
- 2011 Census of Population Profiles - retrieves the above variables by place name, postal code, or geographic code
- 2011 NHS Profiles - data is presented for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas/census agglomerations, census divisions, census subdivisions and federal electoral districts. 2011 Census data is provided alongside the NHS data for a more comprehensive view of a given geographical area.
- 2011 Census of Population by FSA (Forward Sortation Area)
  Retrieve the latest census data by FSA - the first three alphanumeric characters of a postal code. Select a relevant link on the page > select one of the format links (HTML, Beyond 20/20, SDMX (XML) > search for the desired FSA and data variable(s)
- 2011 NHS by FSA (Forward Sortation Area)
  Retrieve the latest NHS data by FSA - the first three characters of a postal code. Download the file named EO1976_ID579862.ivt. To view NHS data by FSA on non-library computers, you must download and install Beyond 20/20 software. A free download (for Windows) is available at the Statistics Canada website.

Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing, 2008 via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Use the Table of Contents OR Index of this e-book to find an industry profile. Profiles typically include sections on Key Users and Target Markets & Segmentation. U.S. focus.
FP Markets - Canadian Demographics
Provides basic statistics on Canadian population, households, incomes and retail sales projections at the federal, provincial and city level.
Location: MILLS Library HC 111.S96, 1999-2012.
NOTE: This publication has been discontinued.
Index of Consumer Confidence via Conference Board of Canada inFact (formerly e-Library)
A monthly index constructed from responses to four attitudinal questions posed to a random sample of Canadian households. Search or browse by title.
Make Shift (TrendWatching), 2020 to current
Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.
Market Research Handbook (Statistics Canada)
Includes labour force, income, consumer expenditures, housing, etc.
Location of Print: MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS 63 -C224, 1975 to 2008.
NOTE: This publication has been discontinued.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Contains several market research reports related to demographics. Content primarily American.
Ontario Provincial Highways Traffic Volumes (1988 to 2019) (Ontario Ministry of Transportation)
Passport
Select CONSUMERS (across top of screen) and explore the menu options in that category. Includes individual country reports (including Canada) on Consumer Behaviour and Values, Lifestyles, Consumer Types, Megatrends and more.
PRIZM Lifestyle Lookup by Canadian Postal Code (Environics Analytics)
Input a residential Canadian postal code to retrieve a lifestyle description for that neighbourhood.
NOTE: This data is free to the general public. Additional PRIZM data is available in ArcGIS Business Analyst.
Spending Patterns in Canada, 1997-2010. (Statistics Canada)
Presents statistical highlights and key tables from the Survey of Household Spending (SHS). The publication also includes analytical text, summary-level tables, a detailed table, notes and definitions, and information about survey methodology and data quality.
NOTE: This publication has been discontinued. See Survey of Household Spending via Statistics Canada Data (below) for current data.
Survey of Household Spending Data Tables (Statistics Canada)
This annual survey collects information about expenditures by households and families in Canada on a wide variety of goods and services, as well as their dwelling characteristics and possession of household equipment such as appliances, audio and video equipment, and vehicles.