Companies

Alumni Business Directory (McMaster University)
A listing of small to medium sized businesses that McMaster alumni own or co-own in Canada and elsewhere.
Canadian Business Database, current
An online directory including over 2 million businesses in Canada (public & private). Can be searched by company name, type of business (including SIC or NAICS codes), location, employee size and sales ranges.
Canadian Business Counts, 1988-current
Provides counts of business establishments in Canada by geography (by country, by province, by census division, by census metropolitan area) by industry (e.g., NAICS 2 to 6 digits) and employment size ranges.
Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor)
Financial and Taxation Statistics for Enterprises (Statistics Canada) - Data Table: 33-10-0006-01, 1999-current [select Add/Remove data button to change default selections] and Publication (Discontinued), 1999-2014 &
Contains annual aggregate data of Canadian enterprises classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The data include: asset, liability and equity items encompassed in a balance sheet, revenue and expense items as reported on an income statement, a reconciliation of net profit to taxable income and taxes payable, along with several common financial performance ratios.
Financial Performance Data (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada), current | previous years, 2012-current
Provides access to more than 1000 industries across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks to help small and medium sized businesses determine how they measure up to their competitors. Includes net profits and net losses, and detailed financial data on revenues and expenses, industry average's for income statements and balance sheet items as well as financial ratios.
Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business (FPICB) (Discontinued), 1994-2011.
Provides typical balance sheet and financial ratio data for Canadian companies according to operating revenue, industry (NAICS code) and geography (i.e., national or provincial).
IQS Directory: Industrial Quick Search Manufacturer Directory
Search or browse for industrial products and services from manufacturers, suppliers and distributors across Canada and the United States. Company profiles, industry information (e.g., definitions, background, etc.) and articles & press releases are included.
Mergent Online
Contains information on active and inactive Canadian companies. Search by company name or by U.S. SIC or NAICS. The Investext tab contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research firms.
Scott's Directories - login with the barcode number on your Hamilton Public Library card [free to anyone living, working or studying in Hamilton].
NOTE: McMaster is not a current subscriber to Scott's Directories. A current online edition is available via HPL Online > Business category with a Hamilton Public Library card.
Directory of Canadian companies (primarily manufacturing) by name, location and Canadian NAICS code. Sales estimates are often provided for companies.
Factiva, 1970s to the present; dates vary by publication
Contains approx. 1,000 full-text newspapers from 87 countries in 22 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to Canadian publications. Includes full-text articles from the Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star & Hamilton Spectator. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try Nexis Uni and CPI.Q.
Nexis Uni, 1970s to the present, dates vary by publication
Includes thousands of worldwide news sources, including local sources such as The Hamilton Spectator. To find news about companies, at the Nexis Uni home page ...
- locate the Guided Search task pods
- choose News in the What are you interested in? box
- type your keywords or subject terms in the Search in all News for box
- choose the news timeframe you want to search in from the Choose date range drop-down list
- click Search
- in the results list, use the options in the Narrow By column to filter your results by location, publication type, subject, industry, geography, timeline, etc.
Quarterly Financial Statistics for Enterprises (Statistics Canada) Data Tables 33-10-0224-01 (2010 to current), 33-10-0225-01 (2010 to current), 33-10-0226-01 (2020 to current), 33-10-0227-01 (2010 to current), 33-10-0007-01 (1988-2019), 33-10-0008-01 (1988-2019) [select Add/Remove data button to change default selections] and Publication (Discontinued), 2000-2015
Presents quarterly balance sheet, income statement and statement of changes in financial position and ratio data by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).