Business Data Sources
Financial performance data: Access financial data based on industry averages for more than 1000 industries across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks to help small businesses determine how they measure up to their competitors.
Industry Sector Intelligence by Industry Canada: Access to research and business intelligence on various types of Canadian industries.
Industry Statistics Portal by US Census Bureau: Provides access to the Census Bureau programs that provide economic data for a user-selected industry.
Industry and Service Statistics (MEI) by OECD.Stat: The Production and Sales dataset contains industrial statistics for the 35 OECD member countries and for selected other economies on four separate subjects: Production; Sales; Orders; and Work started.
Alpha Vantage Database & API: Open-access (no paywall) business database covering Canada, US, EU, and other global statistics on equities, ETFs, mutual funds, foreign exchange, and economic indicators, spanning 20+ years of history.
Trade Data Online: Provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
Trade and Tariff Data (WTO): Provides trade, tariff and services profiles and times series data for merchandise trade (by region and selected economies), commercial services trade (by region and selected economies), and regional integration arrangements. It also provides access to WTO annual publications and interactive statistics databases and maps.
International Economic Accounts - Bureau of Economic Analysis: Access to tables of economic data, including US Trade in Goods and US International Transactions.
Market Access Database (MADB) - European Commission: Provides access to data on trade flows in goods between EU and non-EU countries - broken down by country, sector and measure - also provides country-level data by commodity.
Eurostat Trade Data: Provides access to external EU trade data as well as trade between members of the EU.
Commodity Trade Statistics Database, UNSD (UN Comtrade): Annual international trade statistics detailed by commodities and partner countries provided by over 140 reporter countries to the United Nations Statistics Division. For many countries, the data coverage starts in 1962.
The World Bank Trade Data: Provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data.
International Trade Data (Government of Canada): Access to trade data by product or industry from over 200 countries as well as access to summary reports and lists of companies importing goods into Canada from Canadian Importers Database.
Odesi Data Portal: Please visit “Odesi” data portal to access Canadian and International trade data sets. The files from Odesi can be searched, browsed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. You must be a current student, staff or faculty at McMaster University to access Odesi. 