Company Directories

Canadian Business Database, current year only
An online directory listing over 2 million Canadian businesses (public & private). Can be searched by company name, type of business (including American SIC or NAICS code), location, employee size and sales ranges. Calculate a rough estimate of market share using sales ranges of companies in your industry. See this guide for more information.
Canadian Business Counts, 1988 to current
Provides counts (not names) of business establishments in Canada by geography (country, province, census division, census metropolitan area) by industry (e.g., NAICS 2-6 digits) and by employment size ranges for several years (to be searched separately).
Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor)
Canadian Key Business Directory
Useful for finding key players in the Canadian market by SIC codes. Sales or sales range estimates are included for each company entry (public and private).
Location: STORAGE HF 3223. C18 [2001-2013] (Subscription Cancelled)
Canadian Trade Index (current)
A buyers guide to the products of over 30,000 industrial companies in Canada.
Location of Print: STORAGE HF 3223 .C212 [1931-2008]
FP500: Canada's Largest Corporations
Ranks the top private & public companies in Canada based on revenue/assets. Also identifies leading companies in several industries including finance, insurance, multimedia, telecommunications and more.
Location of Print: MILLS Periodicals HG 179 .F472 (FP500 usually published in the June issue of Financial Post Magazine)
FRASERS: Canada's Industrial Search Engine (current)
Provides Canadian contact information for industrial suppliers of manufacturing products, MRO (Maintenance, Repair, and Operations) equipment and components and more. Search for keywords or browse by category, company and news (REDWIRE).
Location of Print: STORAGE HF 3223 .F84 [1946-2005]
Hoover's Company Records
Includes reports on companies worldwide. Profiles typically include a company factsheet, overview, history, people, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, competitors and financials.
IQS Directory: Industrial Quick Search Manufacturer Directory
Search or browse for industrial products and services from manufacturers, suppliers and distributors across Canada and the United States. Company profiles, industry information (e.g., definitions, background, etc.) and articles & press releases are included.
Mergent Online
Includes corporate and financial information on approximately 8,300 active (public) and inactive Canadian companies. Search by company name, ticker symbol, or American industry codes (SIC or NAICS).
Scott's Directories - login with the barcode number on your Hamilton Public Library card [free to anyone living, working or studying in Hamilton].
NOTE: McMaster is not a current subscriber to Scott's Directories. A current online edition is available via HPL Online > Business category with a Hamilton Public Library card.
Directory of Canadian companies (primarily manufacturing) by name, location and Canadian NAICS code. Sales estimates are often provided for companies.
Top 1000: Canada's Largest Companies
NOTE: Current rankings are not freely available on the website; check print copy of Report on Business Magazine.
Rankings of Canada's biggest corporations based on revenue/profits/assets. Rankings by industry are also provided. Lists include public and/or private companies.
Location of Print: MILLS Periodicals (3rd floor) HC 111 .R45 (Top 1000 usually published in May or June issue of Report on Business Magazine)