Skip to main content

A Guide to Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 1604-1804 (varies by title)

  • Search and read full page and article images (PDF) of 17th and 18th century English news media (i.e., pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks & newspapers).

19th Century British Library Newspapers, 1800-1913 (varies by title)

  • Search and read full page and article images (PDF) of selected newspapers from nineteenth-century Britain.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 1800-1899 (varies by title)

  • Search and read full page and article images (PDF) from nearly 400 nineteenth century American newspapers

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1836-1922

  • Search and read newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present

Globe and Mail, May 2, 1844 to 4 years ago

  • Full-page archive of the Globe and Mail newspaper. Coverage includes all stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages dating back to the pre-confederation era ; 4 concurrent users.

New York Times, September 18, 1851 to 3 months ago

  • Full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text back to the first issue.

ProQuest News and Newspapers, 1840s to 2010s

  • Search the full-text of 4 historical newspapers simultaneously, Globe & Mail, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. Provides full page and article images (PDF).

Sunday Times Digital Archive,1822-2006

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Sunday Times.

The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

  • Complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching; 2 concurrent users.

Times Literary Supplement, 1902-2006

  • Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS).

Wall Street Journal, July 8, 1889 to 3 months ago

  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Washington Post, Dec. 12, 1877 to 3 months ago

  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.