Skip to main content

How Do I Find Business Databases?

Guide to selecting and accessing business databases.

Some of the most popular databases for business research are listed in the table below.  Click on a database name to access the resource.
For a list of the top business databases organized by source types (e.g., articles, data, reports, etc.), please review this guide (PDF).

Top Business Databases 

Database Name Description
McMaster Users Only Full-Text Accounting and Assurance Provides full-text access to key accounting manuals such as the CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (formerly known as the CICA Handbook) & Interntional Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS).
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
Business Monitor International Provides country risk, industry and competitive intelligence for 175 countries.
McMaster Users Only Citations
Full-Text

Data
 
Business Premium Collection 
[Includes ABI/INFORMAccounting, Tax & BankingAsian & European Business, Business Market ResearchEntrepreneurship and J.P. Morgan Research]
Provides full-text access and/or indexing to thousands of business sources, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, books, reports, videos and more.
McMaster Users Only Citations
Full-Text

Data
Business Source Premier Contains citations and full-text articles from thousands of sources, including academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes  worldwide company, country and industry reports.
McMaster Users Only

Citations
Full-Text

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Articles from key Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers. Multidisciplinary database with selected full-text.
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
Canadian Business Database Brief profiles of 1.9 million Canadian companies, including privates. Search by company name, by industry code (SIC or NAICS), by geography, etc.
McMaster Users Only Citations
Full-Text
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)  Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals. Multidisciplinary database with selected full-text. Emphasis on Canadian content.
McMaster Users Onlyopen access Data
 
CANSIM via CHASS (McMaster Users Only) & Data Tables (formerly CANSIM) via Statistics Canada (Open Access) Contains current and historical Canadian statistics on a wide variety of topics such as business, education, income, labour, manufacturing, population & demography, retail & wholesale and transportation.
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data

Video
Conference Board of Canada e-Library Full-text database containing research publications and recorded conferences and webinars on economic trends, public policy issues and organizational performance.
open access Data DataBank International selection of economic, social and environmental indicators from the World Bank. Current and historical data for over 200 countries.
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
DBRS (Dominion Bond Rating Service) A Canadian rating agency providing independent evaluations of corporate and government issues. Includes rating reports on companies, countries and cities, as well as industry studies. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on Canada. 
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) Provides access to economic data and commentary on countries around the world.
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
Factiva Provides full-text access to current and archived international news as well as corporate and financial data. 
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
IBISWorld Contains U.S., Canadian and global industry reports. Search by keyword(s) or by industry code (NAICS - North American Industry Classification System).
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text access and/or indexing to thousands of sources relevant to business research including international newspapers, company directories, and legal materials.
McMaster Users Only Video Lynda.com Contains thousands of instructional videos on a broad range of topics, including many relevant to business such as communication, data analysis, online marketing, project managment, programming and software. 
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
MarketResearch.com Academic Contains hundreds of full-text market research reports. U.S. emphasis.
McMaster Users Only Data
Full-Text
Mergent Online Business and financial data on public companies (active & inactive) worldwide. Also includes country profiles useful for international business research.
McMaster Users Only Data ODESI (Ontario Data Documentation Extraction Service & Infrastructure) Includes data  files from Statistics Canada, Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files and selected files from the ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). 
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
OECD iLibrary  Provides full-text access to books, reports, working papers, periodicals and statistical data published by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
Passport  A global market information database containing key business intelligence on countries, cities, companies, markets and consumers around the world.
open access Full-Text
Data
SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) Contains annual reports, financial statements, press releases and other documents from Canadian public companies.
McMaster Users Only Data
Full-Text
 
Statista  Includes millions of statistics on  thousands of topics from a variety of sources. Also contains market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. Worldwide coverage.
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
Thomson ONE Contains corporate data and research reports written by analysts at the world’s top investment banks, brokerage houses and research firms.
McMaster Users Only Full-Text
Data
Value Line Investment Survey An investment advisory service that tracks approximately 1,700 companies in over 90 industries.
McMaster Users Only Citations Web of Science - Core Collection Indexes and abstracts articles from over 20,000 international scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas including business. Search by topic, cited works and more.
McMaster Users Only Data WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
[Includes Compustat, CRSP, I/B/E/S, and more]
WRDS is a web based interface providing access to recent and historical financial data.