General Info on Journal Rankings & Metrics
Understanding Scholarly Metrics (PDF) by CRKN (Canadian Research Knowlege Network)
Impact Metrics (PDF) - Information Brief by OCULA (Ontario College and University Library Association)
Making an Impact: Tracking Your Research Metrics (Health Sciences Library, McMaster University)
Bibliometrics & Measuring Research Output (University of Waterloo)
Journal Ranking (Wikipedia)
Journal Rankings from Bibliometrics and Altmetrics: Measuring the Impact of Knowledge (University of Maryland)
Journal Metrics from Research Metrics (BYU (Brigham Young University) Library)
Assessing Journal Quality (Boston College Libraries)
Identifying Appropriate Journals for Publication (University of Alberta Libraries)
Scholarly Communication Toolkit (ACRL) - Evaluating Journals | Measuring Impact (Association of College & Research Libraries)
How to Avoid Predatory Publishers and Conferences (McMaster Libraries)
How to Assess a Journal (CARL)
Icon Descriptions
Open Access
Online source accessible to everyone, anywhere.
McMaster Users Only
Online source accessible to current McMaster students, faculty and staff only. MacID@mcmaster.ca required.
Business Librarian
Ines Perkovic
Contact:
Mills Memorial Libray, L-101/B
McMaster University Library
1280 Main Street West, Hamilton, ON, L8S-4L6, CANADA
McMaster University Library
1280 Main Street West, Hamilton, ON, L8S-4L6, CANADA
905-525-9140 ext. 21359
Website
Business Journal Rankings
- ABDC Journal Quality List (ABDC - Australian Business Deans Council)
The list is used as a guide by business schools around the world to assess the quality of the journals in which faculty members’ research is published.
- Academic Journal Guide (or AJG) - Free registration required (CABS - Chartered Association of Business Schools, United Kingdom)
Published every three years, the AJG is a guide to the range, subject matter and relative quality of journals in which business and management academics publish their research. The latest guide (2021) includes a total of 1,703 journals. Search for specific journals by name or ISSN number, or browse by field. Click on the column headings to sort the tables by different data sets.
- DSB 45 Journals List - Accessible off-campus with McMaster's VPN + Remote Desktop
A list of 45 journals identified by McMaster University's DeGroote School of Business (DSB).
- ERIM Journals List (or EJL) (ERIM - Erasmus Research Institute of Management)
Identifies some of the best journals in the field of management. Includes a journal list that covers the entire field of research in management and sublists for each of the domains represented in the ERIM research programs which include: Finance & Accounting; Logistics & Information Systems; Management General; Marketing; Organisation; Strategy & Entrepreneurship.
- FT Top 50: Financial Times' Top 50 Journals Used in Business School Research Rankings (Financial Times)
Lists the 50 journals used by the Financial Times (FT) in compiling the FT Research rank. Titles selected are based upon survey feedback from business schools participating in the Financial Times MBA, EMBA and Online MBA rankings.
- Google Scholar Metrics (Google), 2023 version [new version usually released in June or July]
Summarizes recent citations to many publications in several subject areas. Dates and citation counts are estimated and are determined automatically by a computer program. Search for specific publications or browse the top publications in subject categories (e.g., Business, Economics & Management, Engineering & Computer Science) and subcategories (e.g., Accounting & Taxation, International Business, Marketing, Operations Research, etc.) Titles are ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics (i.e., h5). Multi-disciplinary coverage.
- Journal Citation Reports (Clarivate Analytics), 1997 to the present
Rankings are based on citation data drawn from theWeb of Science (WoS) database produced by Clarivate Analytics. Metrics include Journal Impact Factor (or JIF), Immediacy Index, Total Cites, Eigenfactor, Article Influence and more. Search by journal name or browse journal rankings by name or by 230+ categories/subject areas (e.g., Business; Business, Finance; Economics; Management; Operations Research & Management Science). Multi-disciplinary coverage.
- JournalGuide - select Business & Law category> Business subcategory (Research Square)
A free tool that helps researchers evaluate scholarly journals. Search, filter, sort, and compare journals across all academic fields. Search journals by: Paper Match (i.e., using title and abstract keywords), Journal Name, Category or Publisher. Site uses the Source-Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) as a measure of a journal’s impact. Multi-disciplinary coverage.
- Journal Quality List (or JQL) (Harzing.com)
The list brings together business journal rankings from a number of sources (some of which are included in this guide). The list covers academic journals in the broad areas of economics, finance, accounting, management, and marketing.
- Journal Ranking Articles Published 1990-2009, by Discipline [archived link] (AACSB - Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business)
A list of articles concerning journal quality and rankings in business published between 1990 and 2009, including the source of the data (citation scores, opinion surveys, etc.) Articles are organized into the following categories: accounting, economics, entrepreneurship, finance, international business, management, management information systems, marketing and operations management. To access the full-text of articles in the list, search for the article title and/or journal title in Omni.
- Journal Rankings in Business [archived link] (C.B. "Bud" Johnston Library, Western University, Canada)
A list of articles about the ranking and rating of journals in the business fields of accounting, entrepreneurship, finance, management, marketing, management & information systems, and production/operations management. To access the full-text of articles in the list, search for the article title and/or journal title in Omni.
- Senior Scholars' Basket of Journals (AIS - Association for Information Systems)
Identifies a "basket" of eleven journals as top journals in the field of IS or information systems.
- SJR Scimago Journal Rankings (Scimago Lab and Scopus), 1999 to the present
Rankings are based on citation data drawn from theScopus database produced by Elsevier. Metrics include SJR (SCImago Journal Rank), H-Index, Total Documents, Citable Documents, Total Cites, Cites per Document, Total References and more. Search by journal title, ISSN or publisher name (top right). Browse journal rankings in 27 subject areas (e.g., Business, Management and Accounting; Decision Sciences; Economics, Econometrics and Finance), over 300 subject categories (e.g., Marketing, Industrial Relations, etc.), several regions/countries (e.g., Canada, United States, etc.), and/or types (e.g. Journals, Trade Journals, etc.). Multi-disciplinary coverage.