Basil H. Johnston fonds
Dr. Basil Johnston (1929-2015) was a renowned Ojibway author, ethnographer, and teacher of Anishinaabemowin. In his lifetime, he published 25 volumes, including the Anishinaube Thesaurus, and received the Order of Ontario and the Aboriginal Achievement Award for Heritage and Spirituality.
Johnston’s archives contain records related to his literary career and ethnographic research on Anishinaabe peoples. His records are a particularly rich resource of Anishinaabemowin language materials. In addition, the archive contains a small number of records related to Johnston’s experiences in residential school. In 2022, the significance of this archive was recognized by its addition to CCUNESCO’s Memory of the World Register. View the finding aid for his archive here.
Photograph of Dr. Basil Johnston, Box 27, File 13
Daniel David Moses fonds
Daniel David Moses (1952-2020) was an award-winning Delaware playwright, poet, editor, and dramaturge. He grew up in Six Nations of the Grand River. During his lifetime, he authored over 12 plays and four books of poetry. In 2003, Moses joined the Department of Drama at Queen’s University as a Queen’s National Scholar, and in 2019 became Professor Emeritus. In 2016, he was inducted as a fellow to the Royal Society of Canada. Moses donated his archive to the William Ready Division in 2016. View the finding aid for his archive here.
Photograph of Daniel David Moses, Box 3, File 11
E. Pauline Johnson fonds
Emily Pauline Johnson (Tekahionwake) (1861-1913) was born on the Six Nations reserve near Brantford, Ontario. Of Mohawk and European descent, she spent her early years in the community, where her father, George Johnson, held a position of prominence as a Mohawk Wolf Clan chief. In her adult life, Pauline Johnson was a prolific poet and performer, touring multiple times in Canada, the U.S. and England. She published several volumes of poetry, including The White Wampum (1895) and Flint and Feather (1912), as well as short story collections such as Legends of Vancouver (1911).
The E. Pauline Johnson fonds has been donated or purchased in small accruals from 1961 on. The first accrual to the fonds was donated in 1961 by the Brant chapter of the Imperial Order Daughters of Empire (I.O.D.E.). Because of the peripatetic nature of Pauline Johnson’s life, the records which survive from her are scant. Significant records in this archive include clippings of her published work, promotional programmes and tour ephemera, and some photographs. View the finding aid for her archive here.
Photograph of Pauline Johnson, Performance Flyer
