Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Find Book Reviews?

Book Review Indexes by Time Period

Book Review Indexes by Time Period

18th Century

Index to Book Reviews in England, 1749 - 1774

  • Indexes reviews of poetry, drama and fiction. Entries are arranged by author with cross references from title.

Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775 - 1800

  • Indexes reviews to almost 5,000 works of poetry, drama and fiction. Includes reviews in all the major review journals.

Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789 - 1826 

  • Indexes reviews found in British periodicals and two newspapers. Arranged alphabetically by author, then chronologically by date of publication.

19th Century

Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789 - 1826 

  • Indexes reviews found in British periodicals and two newspapers. Arranged alphabetically by author, then chronologically by date of publication.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802 - 1907

  • Indexes British and American periodicals. Reviews of books which have a definite subject are listed under the subject, all others are listed by author.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802 - 1974

  • Index by author and title to over 500,000 reviews from 157 humanities journals. This is the best and quickest index to use if the book was reviewed in the early part of the century.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 - 1974

  • Author/title index to over two million book reviews in 460 scholarly journals of history, political science and sociology. This is the best and quickest index to use if the book was reviewed in the early part of the century.

20th & 21st Centuries

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802 - 1907

  • Indexes British and American periodicals. Reviews of books which have a definite subject are listed under the subject, all others are listed by author.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802 - 1974

  • Index by author and title to over 500,000 reviews from 157 humanities journals. This is the best and quickest index to use if the book was reviewed in the early part of the century.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 - 1974

  • Author/title index to over two million book reviews in 460 scholarly journals of history, political science and sociology. This is the best and quickest index to use if the book was reviewed in the early part of the century.

Bibliographie der Rezensionen, 1900 - 1943

  • From 1900-11, indexes reviews in over 3,000 German-language periodicals. From 1911-43, indexes 5,000 German and 4,000 other serials as well as 50 newspapers.

Times Literary Supplement Index, 1902 - 2012 

  • Indexes book reviews, articles, letters and poems. Entries are by personal name, title and subject in one combined index.

Book Review Digest, 1906 - 1982

  • Indexes reviews of English-language books published or distributed in Canada and the U.S., which have appeared in at least two journals.

Canadian Periodical Index, 1920 - 1996

  • A general index to Canadian magazines and journals. Reviews appear under the heading "Book Reviews". Also available online as CPI-Q from 1980 to the present.

British Humanities Index, 1962 - present

  • Indexes British newspapers and journals in art, music, philosophy, religion, literature, economics, politics, history and society. Continues in part the Subject Index to Periodicals (1915-61).

Book Review Index, 1965 - present

  • A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. This index has a better selection of scholarly journals than Book Review Digest.

Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen Wissenschaftlicher Literatur, 1971 - present

  • Indexes major western language journals (4,000+) on all subjects. Each year is published in four parts: A - index of periodicals listed; B - classified subject index in German, with English and French cross-references; C - author index; D - reviewer index.

French Periodical Index, 1973 - 1995

  • Reviews French-language books and authors (Canadian and international).

Canadian News Index, 1980 - 1992 

  • Index to eight major Canadian newspapers. Continued by the Canadian Index and CBCA.

CBCA (Canadian Business and Current Affairs), 1982 - present

  • A general index to Canadian magazines and eight newspapers. An online version of the Canadian Index.

Repère, 1994 - present

  • Index to French-Canadian newspapers and magazines. Continues Point de Repère (1984-93);Radar (1972-83) and Periodex (1972-83). 
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email