How Do I Find Collective Agreements?

Collective Agreements...

• are legal contracts between a union and an employer
• typically set out the rates of pay, hours of work, vacations, benefits, grievance procedures, and other conditions of employment
• have a set expiry date (typically one to three years)

CANADA | Alberta | British Columbia | Manitoba | New Brunswick | Newfoundland and Labrador | Northwest Territories | Nova Scotia | Nunuvat | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon | UNITED STATES

CANADA

• Negotech - Employment and Social Development Canada
  • Contains full-text copies of current and historical collective agreements across Canada.
  • Search by company, union, date, sector, industry and other criteria.
     
• Collective Agreements for the Public Service - Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
  • Contains current collective agreements of groups in the federal public service in Canada.
  • Search for agreements by keyword(s) or browse alphabetically.
     
• The Collective Agreement Collection - CAPAL (Canadian Association of Professional Academic Librarians)
  • Contains all collective agreements that govern the labour of librarians working in post-secondary institutions in Canada. 
  • Last updated in 2015.

Alberta

• Collective Bargaining Agreements (CBA) - Alberta Ministry of Labour and Immigration
  • Contains selected collective agreements for organizations operating within Alberta, Canada.
  • Includes the current and most recent expired agreements filed electronically with the Government of Alberta.
  • Search for agreements by employer, union, city/region, local # and date.

British Columbia

• BC Bargaining Database - Business Council of British Columbia and British Columbia Labour Relations Board
  • Contains current and expired collective agreements throughout British Columbia, Canada.
  • Search by company, sector, industry, union, date and keyword(s).
     
• Collective Agreements - British Columbia Labour Relations Board
  • Contains current and historical collective agreements filed in British Columbia, Canada.
  • Search collective agreements by employer name, union name, or industry.

Manitoba

• Bargaining - Manitoba School Boards Association
  • Contains current collective agreements for teaching and non-teaching staff in Manitoba,Canada. 
  • Browse agreements by Division.
     
• Collective Agreements - MNU (Manitoba Nurses Union)
  • Includes current collective agreements for various regional health authorities and health facilities in Manitoba, Canada. 
  • Browse agreements by category.

New Brunswick

• Collective Agreement Retrieval System (CARS) - Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour, Industrial Relations Branch, New Brunswick
  • Includes current and historical collective agreements filed with the Industrial Relations Branch of the Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour in New Brunswick, Canada.
  • Search by employer, union, location, NAICS industry code or key terms. 

Newfoundland and Labrador

• Collective Agreement Database, Newfoundland and Labrador

  • It is a legislative requirement in Newfoundland and Labrador for parties to a collective agreement to file a copy of their agreement with the Minister responsible for the department. This database is a collection of active collective agreements that have been received by the department.

  • Search by keyword(s), collective agreement name, NAICS code, union, employer, date or sector.

• Collective Agreements - NAPE (Newfoundland & Labrador Association of Public and Private Employees)
  • Contains current collective agreements negotiated by NAPE on behalf of its members in Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada. 
  • Search by keyword(s). 

Northwest Territories

• Terms of Employment - Human Resources, Northwest Terrorities
  • Contains current collective agreements between the NWTTA (Northwest Territories Teachers' Association), the UNW (Union of Northern Workers) and the Government of the Northwest Terrorities in Canada.

Nova Scotia

• Agreements  - NSCLRA (Nova Scotia Construction Labour Relations Association)
  • Contains current collective agreements for trades affiliated with the Nova Scotia Construction Labour Relations Association in Canada.
  • Browse collective agreements from mainland Nova Scotia, Cape Breton Island and other areas.

Nunavut

• Collective Agreements - NEU (Nunavut Employees Union) 
  • Contains collective agreeements for bargaining units associated with the Nunavut Employees Union in Canada.
  • Browse collective agreements by title.

Ontario

• Collective Agreements e-Library Portal - Ontario Ministry of Labour, Training and Skills Development
  • Contains current and expired public and private sector collective agreements in Ontario, Canada.
  • Search by keyword(s), employer, union, industry, sector and more.
     
• CAAT(A) Collective Agreement Archive
  • An archive of all CAAT (Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology) Academic Collective Agreements for use by union stewards. 
  • These agreements are negotiated provincially between OPSEU (Ontario Public Service Employees Union) and the CEC (College Employer Council).
     
• Collective Agreements - OHA (Ontario Hospital Association)
  • Contains current central and local collective agreements for hospitals in Ontario, Canada.
  • Browse for agreements by union name.
     
• Collective Agreements - Human Resources Services, McMaster University
  • Contains current and historical collective agreements for various employee groups at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.

Prince Edward Island

• Collective Agreements - Government of Prince Edward Island
  • A listing of current collective agreements on file with the Industrial Relations Division in Prince Edward Island, Canada.
  • Search for agreements by union, company or keyword(s).

Québec

• Collective Agreements - Commission De La Construction Du Québec
  • Includes current collective agreements for various sectors of the construction industry
     
• Collective Agreements - CPN (Comité Patronaux de Négociation)  Management Negotiating Committee)
  • Includes current collective agreements for teaching, professional and support staff of school service centers, school boards and colleges. 

Saskatchewan

• Agreements & Resources - CLR Construction Labour Relations Association of Saskatchewan
  • Contains new and historical collective agreements for various building trades in Saskatchewan, Canada.

Yukon

• Collective Agreements - Public Service Commission, Yukon Government
  • Current and historical collective agreements with YEU (Yukon Employees' Union), YTA (Yukon Teachers' Association),  and the Government of Yukon in Canada.

UNITED STATES

• Collective Bargaining Agreements File: Online Listings of Private and Public Sector Agreements - OLMS (Office of Labor-Management Standards), Department of Labor, United States
  • Contains current and historical public and private sector collective agreements in the United States.
  • Browse agreements alphabetically by employer name. 
     
• Labor Contracts Database [archived link] - IRLE (Institute for Research on Labor and Employment) Library, University of California, Berkeley
  • "A one-stop public on-line clearinghouse for cataloged and digitized complete union contract text."
  • Search U.S. labour contracts by state, union name or occupation.
     

When the agreement is not available ...

Contact the union or employer directly. Try the following sources:.

• CAUT (Canadian Association of University Teachers) Member Associations
• Labour Organizations in Canada (Labour Program, Government of Canada)
• Directory of U.S. Labor Organizations, STORAGE HD 6504 .D64
• List of Trade Unions (Wikipedia) - a list of trade unions and union federations by country
• Trade Unions of the World, MILLS Reference and Bookstacks HD 6483 .T675
• Unions Directory (Unions.org)