[Date Coverage]
[YYYY] - Square brackets surrounding dates denotes partial or incomplete coverage for some years in the time range specified.
* Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains hundreds of legal sources for Canada and other countries worldwide. Only a selection of titles are highlighted in the adjacent table. For a more comprehensive listing of sources, go to Nexis Uni directly and search or browse for titles as follows:
To find a specific source within Nexis Uni:
1. Go to the Menu drop-down list (top left) and select All Sources.
2. On the Sources page, go to Search Within Sources (left side), type in a title (e.g., Ontario Reports) and select the magnifying glass to search.
3. Locate the title in the results list.
4. Select one of the options available for that title ...
- click i for more information
- click Get documents to retrieve full-text
- click Add source as a search filter to search for words within the title (top of page); add more titles to search if desired
To browse Canadian case law sources within Nexis Uni:
1. Go to the Menu drop-down list (top left) and select All Sources.
2. On the Sources page, go to Narrow By > Category (left side) and select Cases-Canada.
3. Locate a title in the alphabetical list of sources displayed for that category (e.g., Ontario Reports)
4. Select one of the options available for that title ...
- click i for more information
- click Get documents to retrieve full-text
- click Add source as a search filter to search for words within the title (top of page); add more titles to search if desired
To search all Canadian case law sources within Nexis Uni:
1. Select the Advanced Search link below the main search box.
2. On the Advanced Search page, go to the Select a specific content type drop-down menu (top of search form) and select Cases-Canada from the list.
3. On the Cases-Canada form, search for Terms and/or Document Segments/Fields (e.g., Case Name, Citation, Summary, Date, Jurisdiction, Judge, Counsel, Headnotes and/or Docket Number).
4. On the Results page, use the Narrow By options to refine your results. Print, email, download and/or view full -text of document(s)
McMaster University does not have a law school or program, so the Library's collection of legal resources is relatively modest. Below is a listing of our key Canadian case law reporters, most of which are accessible through the databases Nexis Uni, BestCase and HeinOnline.
Key Canadian Case Law Reporters at McMaster |
||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Case Law Reporter | Online Format | Print Format | ||
| Date Coverage |
Full-text Access via |
Date Coverage |
Location / Call No. |
|
| Alberta Judgments cited as: A.J. |
1954-present; selected significant decisions 1911-1953 | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| All Canada Weekly Summaries cited as: A.C.W.S. |
1977-present | BestCase | - | - |
| British Columbia and Yukon Judgments cited as: B.C.J. and Y.J. |
B.C.: partial coverage, 1867-present; Yukon: partial coverage, 1970-present |
Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Canada Industrial Relations Board Decisions cited as: C.I.R.B.D. |
1973-present [1995-present] |
Nexis Uni* Canada Industrial Relations Board |
1974-2007 | MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 L 100-D23 & CA1 L 100-R22 |
| Canadian Criminal Cases cited as: C.C.C. |
1898-present | BestCase | - | - |
| Canadian Human Rights Reporter cited as: C.H.R.R. |
1980-present | CHRR Online | 1980-2004 | MILLS (3rd floor) KE 4381 .A6C3 |
| Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries cited as: C.L.A.S. |
1986-present | BestCase | - | - |
| Canadian Labour Relations Board Reports cited as: C.L.R.B.R. |
- | - | 1974-2019 | MILLS (3rd floor) KE .C4 |
| Canadian Rights Reporter cited as: C.R.R. |
- | - | 1982-present | MILLS (3rd floor) JC 599 .C3C36 |
| Criminal Reports cited as: C.R. |
- | - | 1967-1992 | MILLS (3rd floor) KE .C752 |
| Dominion Law Reports cited as: D.L.R. |
1912-present | BestCase | 1912-2008 | MILLS (3rd floor) K .D65 |
| Exchequer Court Reports cited as: Ex. C.R. |
1877-1971 | Nexis Uni* | 1895-1970 | MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 J 41-C13 |
| Federal Court Reports = Recueil des decisions des Cour federales cited as: F.C., C.F., F.C.R. or R.C.F. |
[1990-present] [1990-present] [1992-present] 1971-present |
CanLII Federal Court of Canada Federal Judicial Affairs Canada Nexis Uni* |
1971-present | MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 J 65-F21 |
| Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board cited as: F.P.S.L.R.E.B. or P.S.L.R.E.B. |
[1996-present] | Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board |
1982-2004 | MILLS GovPubs 2nd floor) CA1 CS 25-D21 |
| Jugements du Quebec cited as: J.Q. |
1951-present; selected significant decisions 1883-1950 | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Labour Arbitration Cases cited as: L.A.C. |
1948-present | BestCase | 1948-2001 | MILLS (3rd floor) HD 5507 .L2 |
| Land Compensation Reports cited as: L.C.R. |
1971-present | BestCase | - | - |
| Manitoba Judgments cited as: M.J. |
1960-present; selected significant decisions 1896-1959 | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| New Brunswick Judgments cited as: N.B.J. |
1947-present; selected significant decisions 1908-1946 | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Newfoundland and Labrador Judgments cited as: N.J. |
1970-present; selected significant decisions 1948-1969 | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Northwest Territories Judgments cited as: N.W.T.J. |
1970-present | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Nova Scotia Judgments cited as: N.S.J. |
1948-present; selected significant decisions 1893-1947 | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Nunavut Judgments cited as: Nu. J. |
1999-present | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Ontario Judgments cited as: O.J. |
1823-present | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Ontario Labour Relations Board Reports cited as: O.L.R.B.R. |
[1971-present] [1959-2001] |
CanLII Nexis Uni* |
1961-2007 | MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA2 ON LR-054 |
| Ontario Municipal Board Reports cited as: O.M.B.R. |
1972-present | BestCase | 1982-2008 | MILLS (3rd floor) KEO 866.4 .M86 |
| Ontario Reports cited as: O.R. |
1931-present | Nexis Uni* | 1901-1959 (microcard) 1960-present |
MILLS (3rd floor) KE. O62a |
| Pay Equity Reports cited as: P.E.R. |
- | - | 1990-2003 | MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA2 ON L270-P22 |
| Prince Edward Island Judgments cited as: P.E.I.J. |
1977-present; selected significant decisions 1922-1969 | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Saskatchewan Judgments cited as: S.J. |
1959-present | Nexis Uni* | - | - |
| Supreme Court of Canada Decisions, Judgments or Reports cited as: S.C.C. ,S.C.J. and S.C.R. |
1876-present 1876-present [1877-present] [1877-present] |
1867-2013 | MILLS GovPubs 2nd floor) CA1 J21 - L16 |
|
| Tax Court of Canada Judgments cited as: T.C.C. |
[1996-present] 1986-present [1996-present] |
CanLII Nexis Uni* Tax Court of Canada |
- | - |
| Weekly Criminal Bulletin cited as: W.C.B. |
1977-present | BestCase | - | - |
| Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal Reporter - Ontario cited as: W.S.I.A.T. Reporter |
1986-present [1985-present] |
CanLII Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal |
1990-2005 | MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA2ONL 250-R27 |