Economy & Industry

Associations Canada
Publication Date: 2024
Location: Online
Associations Canada covers Canadian organizations and international groups including industry, commercial and professional associations; registered charities; and special interest and common interest organizations.

Business Source Premier
Find Canadian industry reports by clicking on INDUSTRY PROFILES on the Basic or Advanced Search screen. Click on the COUNTRY tab and select CANADA to view the reports related to Canada.
Canadian Business Counts, 1988-current
Provides counts of business establishments in Canada by geography (by country, by province, by census division, by census metropolitan area) industry (e.g., NAICS 2 to 6 digits) and employment size ranges.
Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor)
Canadian Communications Pocket Book (formerly Canadian Marketing Pocket Book)
Covers many aspects of everyday life in Canada, from population to consumption trends in retail, advertising and media statistics.
Location: Innis Collection, MILLS Library (3rd floor) HF 5415.12.C35C336 2003, 2004 and 2006/07
Conference Board of Canada inFact (formerly e-Library)
Contains several current Canadian industry reports. Industries covered include: retail trade, paper products, auto parts, IT & communications, wood products, tourism, and food. Search by keywords or browse Publications > By Topic > Industry Sector Economics. Also contains economic profiles of Canada, the provinces and approximately 22 Canadian cities, including Hamilton and Toronto.
The Daily (Statistics Canada)
This is Statistics Canada's official release bulletin, the Agency's first line of communication with the media and the public. The Daily issues news releases on current social and economic conditions and announces new products." Search the archive to identify publications and data tables relevant to your topic.

Encyclopedia of Products and Industries: Manufacturing
Publication Date: 2008
Use the Table of Contents OR Index of this e-book to find an industry profile. Profiles typically include sections on Key Users and Target Markets & Segmentation. Emphasizes manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, automobiles, appliances, business equipment, home furnishing and sporting goods. U.S. emphasis.
Location: ONLINE via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Fitch Solutions / BMI (Business Monitor International) Reports
View Industry Surveys (e.g., Telecommunications, Energy, Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Transport, etc.), forecasts and risk ratings for Canada.
IBISWorld
Contains over 1,600 U.S.,430 Canadian, 427 Ontario (+ other Canadian provinces & terrritories) and 73 global industry reports, many covering very specialized industries.
Index of Business Confidence via Conference Board of Canada inFact
This quarterly survey poses ten qualitative questions regarding the business climate and investment intentions to senior officers of approximately 2,000 Canadian business organizations. Search or browse this publication by title.
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Includes company and industry statistics, reports, etc.
Industry Classification Codes
Directories and databases often arrange company information by industry classification codes (hierarchical numbers assigned to companies engaged in the same activity). Two classification codes are currently in use in Canada: the older Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC codes) and the newer North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
- North American Industry Classification System: Canada (Statistics Canada)
  Site includes NAICS manuals from 1997 to 2022.
  NOTE: NAICS is updated every 5 years.
- Standard Industrial Classification Manual (Dun & Bradstreet)
  Location: MILLS Library (3rd floor), Innis Collection Reference HF 1044 .C2D85 1986
Information by Industrial Category (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
Contains industry-specific analysis and information on Canadian business.
Key Business Ratios, 2004-current
Provides a set of business ratios, measured as relationships between companies' balance sheet and income statement categories, across industries by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code. Canadian content.
Key Small Business Statistics (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
Includes a variety of statistics on small business including the number of businesses in Canada, number of employees, survival rates, e-business usage and contribution to GDP.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Contains hundreds of market research reports, some covering Canada. Small, niche markets are often covered.
Mergent Industry Reports via Mergent Online (2003-2020) and Factiva (2004-2019)
Includes North American industry reports which cover the U.S. and Canadian markets separately. The reports typically include a description of the current market environment, an industry profile, environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues, and market trends & outlook.
- To find Mergent Industry Reports in Mergent Online, select the Industry analysis tab and search by industry and/or region.
- To find Mergent Industry Reports in Factiva ...
  - search and select Mergent Industry Reports from the Source menu
  - in the search box, type in the keyword(s) of your industry with the phrase "north america"
  - click Search
  - browse the results for reports with North America in the title. Canadian content should be included in the body of the report
  - click here to view screenshots of a sample search for a Mergent Industry Report
Ontario Provincial Highways Traffic Volumes1988 to 2019 (Ontario Ministry of Transportation)
Provides traffic volume data for various segments of the provincial highway network (King’s, Secondary, Tertiary Roads, and 7000 Series Highways).
Ontario Industries (Invest Ontario)
Includes brief profiles of industry sectors in Ontario. Sectors covered include aerospace, automotive, chemical and biochemical, cleantech, financial services, food and beverage manufacturing, industrial automation and robotics, information technology, life sciences, mining and tourism.
Passport
Includes market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Statistics for cities worldwide (such as Hamilton and Toronto) are also included. Search by keyword(s) or browse categories in drop-down menu.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Contains profiles for over 50 industries in the U.S. Content may still be applicable to the Canadian environment.
Location: MILLS Library (3rd floor) HG 4915.S65 (Subscription cancelled).
Statista
Contains over one million statistics on thousands of topics from over 18,000 sources. Includes market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics, and market outlooks for countries worldwide, including Canada.
Statistics Canada Data Tables (updated daily)
A Canadian socio-economic website that allows you to search or browse for current & historical statistics on a wide variety of topics. The content can be used to track trends, analyze market potential, study economic activity, make investment decisions and profile demographics.