Icon Descriptions
Best Bet!
Key source.
Open Access
Online source accessible to everyone, anywhere.
McMaster Users Only
Online source accessible to current McMaster students, faculty and staff only. MacID@mcmaster.ca required.
Advertising & Marketing Sources
- Statista
Includes over 1,500,000 worldwide statistics on over 80,000 topics (such as media & advertising) from more than 18,000 sources. Data is derived from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. It also includes market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics, and more.
- Best Brands (Interbrand Surveys & Research)
Identifies top global brands along with top brands in selected regions and countries.
- Association of Canadian Advertisers (ACA)
Includes best practice documents and research materials related to advertising, media and marketing such as Media Digest, Ad Complaints Report, The Most Influential Brands in Canada, and more. NOTE: Some resources only accessible to ACA members.
- CARD (Canadian Advertising Rates & Data) Online
A comprehensive guide to advertising sources in Canada. Search by topical and/or geographical keywords. Entries typically include source name and media category NOTE: The Library does not subscribe to this database. Advertising rates and other information are only available to subscribers.
Location of Print: MILLS Library (3rd floor), Innis Collection Reference HF 5801 .C35 2010 (old print issue includes rates for selected media)
- Data Tables (Statistics Canada)
A Canadian socio-economic website that supports searching and browsing current & historical statistics on a wide variety of topics. Content can be used to track trends, analyze market potential, study economic activity, make investment decisions and profile demographics.
- Marketing Charts
Contains statistics, charts and articles on the top players within a specific category such as automotive, retail, entertainment, advertising and more.
- Marketing Facts (Canadian Marketing Association)
A compendium of marketing related statistics and information from over 38 reputable and well-known sources including Environics Analytics, Leger and NADbank.
Location of Print: MILLS Library (3rd floor), Innis Collection Reference HF 5415 .C2M36 2008
- PRIZM Lifestyle Lookup by Canadian Postal Code (Environics Analytics)
Input a residential Canadian postal code to retrieve a lifestyle description for that neighbourhood.
NOTE: This data is free to the general public. Additional PRIZM data is available in ArcGIS Business Analyst.
- Census Canada 2021 - most current census data available for Canada
- Includes data on population and dwelling counts, age and sex, type of dwelling, agriculture, families, households and marital status, language, income, immigration and ethnocultural diversity, housing and aboriginal peoples
- 2021 Census Profiles - retrieves the above variables by place name, postal code, or geographic code
- 2021 Census Profiles - retrieves the above variables by place name, postal code, or geographic code
- Previous Censuses in Canada
Access data products, analytical products and reference materials from 2016, 2011, 2006, 2001 and 1996 censuses.
- MarketResearch.com Academic
Includes demographics marketing research reports, along with reports on various industries. U.S. focus.
- Passport (Euromonitor)
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on consumers, countries and industires worldwide.
- ProQuest One Business
Includes journals, books, videos, business plans and other publications related to entrepreneurship. Sample publications include Best Customers, American Attitudes, American Generations and American Time Use.